Holuski Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
We LOVE Halushki(how we spell it)! This has been a staple in our house since before I was born- now my kids love it too! In order for this dish to taste SUPREME you have to fry the cabbage with the onion. In fact I put the cabbage in the pan for about 10 minutes before I add the onion. Let the cabbage lightly brown for the most tasty result. Egg noodles are great but you can use Farfalle, Rotini or Elbows. ENJOY this comfort food! We tend to use a lot of pepper and salt for this recipe as well as garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I love this classic Czech dish. So simple, cheap and comforting. However, I do agree that you should definitely sauté the cabbage along with the onion instead of steaming it separately. Also, the addition of a dollop of sour cream can't be beat. For a heartier dish with additional flavor, we also love to add some sliced kielbasa to sauté in with the onion and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
A favorite of us Western PA folks! Around here its not holuski if its not dripping in butter. 1/4 cup is NOT enough, unless you want to be eating plain cooked noodles. Start with at least 1 stick of SALTED butter to saute the onions. Use a stock pot when doing this and add the cabbage a little at a time cause it won't cook down in a timely fashion if you add it all at once. Add the noodles into the cabbage and stir in pot and add more butter as needed until it's all coated to your liking. I usually use a total of 1 1/2 sticks to 2 sticks of salted butter. This is also how my Czech grandmother made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenD2006RN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I have always LOVED this recipe, maybe because I am Czech, however my Babi (who is a Czech immigrant) has never prepared it for me. The taste for this dish must be in my blood! I always fry the onion and cabbage together instead of steaming the cabbage... to me it tastes better this way, and you don't have an extra pot to clean. I always eat it with a dollop of sour cream on top... adds a creamy texture. So simple, yet SO delicious! My very American boyfriend loves it, too (although he likes it with Cheddar on the top). Prosim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I love Holuski, but I found the cabbage has more flavor if when you fry the butter and onion you also fry the cabbage. Its also not as soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
One of the most unique and delicious Czech dishes that I have tasted. My Czech/Ukrainian version is a bit different - it includes diced bacon and browned sourkraut. Always receives fantastic compliments from those who try it for the first time. Rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I love, love, love halushki...takes me back to my Western Pennsylvania / Ukrainian roots. However, my father and his family always added either bacon or "fatback" to this recipe. It makes it even more amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Easy to throw together last minute, but could be helped with the addition of other vegetables (for color/presentation) and cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Absolutely delicious. My slovak grandmother made this for me everytime I came to stay with her when I was a child. When I got the craving for it, I came here and I'm so happy I found this recipe. I also sauteed the onion with the cabbage and added more butter than called for. I also used quite a bit of salt and pepper. Next time I will take the advice of the other reviewers and add some polish sausage (kielbasa). My grandmother used to serve the kielbasa separately but I think it would be fantastic mixed in. I made and ate this all by myself for lunch...YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Kimberly -- yummie. Reminds me of wedding receptions in western Pennsylvania where I grew up. I sometimes use sauerkraut too, like the other reviewer. But my polish grandmother always used the cabbage and a ton of pepper. I am looking for a recipe to make the noodles homemade. If you have one, please post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States