Holuski Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
One of the most unique and delicious Czech dishes that I have tasted. My Czech/Ukrainian version is a bit different - it includes diced bacon and browned sourkraut. Always receives fantastic compliments from those who try it for the first time. Rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Kimberly -- yummie. Reminds me of wedding receptions in western Pennsylvania where I grew up. I sometimes use sauerkraut too, like the other reviewer. But my polish grandmother always used the cabbage and a ton of pepper. I am looking for a recipe to make the noodles homemade. If you have one, please post it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
Very tasty. I hesitated, having to use 3 different types of cooking containers, but it sure was worth it. I will make it again soon. I'm Croatian and find Czech recipes close to my nationalities cooking. Good Job, Kimberly. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
My husband rated this a 3, but I really liked it. Very simple recipe, good for a plain, jane dinner. I sprinkled a little parmesan on mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Fantastic! I made a big ol' pot of this stuff and I'm really glad I did! Delicious! It tasted just as good the next day, and the next day, and the next day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This was very easy and convenient. I did not have any butter, so I used peanut oil. I also added garlic and used mini penne pasta. There is not a whole lot of flavor to this, but the salt and pepper helped. It is filling and quick to make with ingredients at hand, but nothing to rave about...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
My sister made this for us on Christmas...mmmmm is all anyone could say!! When eating some leftovers, though there weren't many, I added some sour cream to it...what a nice change--it almost tasted like cabbage pierogies all cut up!! OOOh, what an idea and an easier way to get that great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I love Holuski, but I found the cabbage has more flavor if when you fry the butter and onion you also fry the cabbage. Its also not as soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I have always LOVED this recipe, maybe because I am Czech, however my Babi (who is a Czech immigrant) has never prepared it for me. The taste for this dish must be in my blood! I always fry the onion and cabbage together instead of steaming the cabbage... to me it tastes better this way, and you don't have an extra pot to clean. I always eat it with a dollop of sour cream on top... adds a creamy texture. So simple, yet SO delicious! My very American boyfriend loves it, too (although he likes it with Cheddar on the top). Prosim!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
Really surprisingly tasty! I had some leftover cabbage in the fridge, and so I decided to give this recipe a go. I don't like onions, myself, so I omitted them and added a few red pepper flakes to add some zest. Fabulous! And Really easy to make, too. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States