Holuski Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
The only reason I gave it four instead of five stars is because my Czech Grandma made it best (of course). We've always sauteed the onions and cabbage together and added lots more butter. Gram also added potatoes or kielbasa to make it a little more stick-to-your-ribs hearty. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I recently had the most delicious Halusky in a farmer's market in Prague. They had bacon in it and it really was an excellent flavour. Also the egg noodles would be best homemade (softer texture but still holds together), and the short, cylindrical type work best in my opinion. But bacon is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by olusha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
It's like noodle perogi's! I accidentally used 12oz of egg noodles and it would be better to just use 8 oz because then the deliciousness of the onion and cabbage would be denser (or use more cabbage and onion!). I ended up using 1/2 c butter and I also tossed in 5 cloves of crushed garlic and some sausages (I like it without the sausage better). Also SOUR CREAM IS A MUST! My 5 year old is on his second bowl already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Definitely better with cabbage fried in one stick of butter. Then add the farfarle. Let places get brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRUIT N VEGGIES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
OMG This brought back memories! This recipe is so simple and yet so delicious! Used elbow macs and added a little extra butter = perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lunastar1311

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Really good, but I agree that frying in butter really adds the flavor. I used 1.5 sticks unsalted and 1.5 onions and just a 1/2 a head of cabbage, shredded. I also used spaghetti noodles. I am not a big user of salt, but I will say you need to be generous with the seasonings. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This was Wonderful!!! I Loved it! I made it because I had some leftover cabbage from another dinner I made. It's just me, so I don't use a whole head for anything. I added some Italian seasoning, garlic powder, and basil. I followed the advice of some of the others and sauteed the cabbage with the onion. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Riley Franco

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I like the cabbage steamed down with a stick of butter instead of water. No draining necessary. INSTEAD of Sour Cream...you HAVE to try with Cottage Cheese. Whole family favorite..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
The humble cabbage meets unassuming egg noodles in this winter's blockbuster hit... Holuski. Fun to pronounce AND to eat. I'm with the majority-- it's easier to saute onion and cabbage all in one large pan then stir in the noodles (I choose kluski noodles for heartier texture). I've also been known to throw in some bacon for the crew every now and again... Good stuff, Kimberly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I had never heard of this dish. Glad I tried it. So good! I did what other reviewers suggested and sauteed the cabbage and onion. No steaming. Also added a dollop of sour cream to each serving. I used bow tie pasta because that's what I had. I like this much more than mac and cheese and it's easier, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States