Holly's Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Oh MY GOSH this was good! More than good; it was awesome! This is the first time I have ever tried making hummus, and I doubt I'll ever find another recipe I like better. I use fresh pressed garlic, and 3 cloves was just perfect. I also agree with another user who said to start out slow on the salt. You may not want much or any at all because the olives give a saltiness also. GREAT recipe! I ate the whole container myself. I'll be making it again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I made this for a party and everyone raved about it. (I doubled the recipe and omitted the olives.) Super easy to make, though I would do early or the day before so all of the flavors have a chance to really come out. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi926

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I've made a lot of hummus, and this recipe is excellent (with a little help, of course). I added 1/4 c. cilantro and no parsley, lots more garlic. It's VERY salty when you first make it, but if you let it sit for a day and serve it the next, it is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is wonderful! I love the addition of the olives! I always put a little more garlic in..you can't go wrong with garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I LOVE hummus, and this is a really great basic recipe. Personally, I'm not a friend of olives, so I left them out, and I bumped up the amount of garlic to 4 cloves minimum (dude, hummus is ALL ABOUT garlic!), and it's excellent every time. My husband raves whenever I make it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
this is a great recipe for hummus, I was so afraid not to use tahini and not get the measurements "just right" but i made some awesome hummus today thanks to this recipe!! I used black olives (left overs from last night) and a dash of everything else. Its a great basic recipe to add to! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
It was pretty good not the best but still very very good, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_94

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I think this is really tasty. Be aware that this tastes like an olive hummus, rather than a hummus with a traditional tahini taste, so I consider this more a recipe for a specialty hummus than for a basic hummus. That being said, this was a hit with my family and friends. We enjoyed the rich, Mediterranean olive taste, and I enjoyed snacking on the leftovers at work knowing that it was a relatively low-calorie version of hummus. The olives are cheaper than tahini, too. I think I'll definitely make this again -- for basic snacking, I like that it gives a hummus flavor with less calories. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Very Good! I used a few sprigs of fresh cilantro and a few sprinkles of dried basil. I like to save and add 1-2 T. of juice from the beans and cut back on the oil a bit. I added less garlic because I was afraid it would be overpowering by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This was my first time making hummus - it turned out very well, although I did add come Cheyanne (sp?) pepper and black pepper to give it a bit more bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States