Holly's Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Holly, I gotta give you props. This was so easy and delicious!!! I just made it for a NYE party and was so pleased about how cheap and easy it is to make. I made one version the "original" recipe, and I made one version with jalapeno and cayenne pepper. I omitted olives in both versions as I don't really like them. The hummus is lemony, garlicky, and perfectly balanced.... good as in any Lebanese restaurant. I will never buy store-bought again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is my boyfriend's favorite appetizer. And it is so easy to make. I top it with the mediterranian flavored Feta cheese. We like to serve it with toasted pita bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Oh MY GOSH this was good! More than good; it was awesome! This is the first time I have ever tried making hummus, and I doubt I'll ever find another recipe I like better. I use fresh pressed garlic, and 3 cloves was just perfect. I also agree with another user who said to start out slow on the salt. You may not want much or any at all because the olives give a saltiness also. GREAT recipe! I ate the whole container myself. I'll be making it again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I made this for a party and everyone raved about it. (I doubled the recipe and omitted the olives.) Super easy to make, though I would do early or the day before so all of the flavors have a chance to really come out. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimi926

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I've made a lot of hummus, and this recipe is excellent (with a little help, of course). I added 1/4 c. cilantro and no parsley, lots more garlic. It's VERY salty when you first make it, but if you let it sit for a day and serve it the next, it is fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is wonderful! I love the addition of the olives! I always put a little more garlic in..you can't go wrong with garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I LOVE hummus, and this is a really great basic recipe. Personally, I'm not a friend of olives, so I left them out, and I bumped up the amount of garlic to 4 cloves minimum (dude, hummus is ALL ABOUT garlic!), and it's excellent every time. My husband raves whenever I make it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
this is a great recipe for hummus, I was so afraid not to use tahini and not get the measurements "just right" but i made some awesome hummus today thanks to this recipe!! I used black olives (left overs from last night) and a dash of everything else. Its a great basic recipe to add to! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
It was pretty good not the best but still very very good, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_94

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I think this is really tasty. Be aware that this tastes like an olive hummus, rather than a hummus with a traditional tahini taste, so I consider this more a recipe for a specialty hummus than for a basic hummus. That being said, this was a hit with my family and friends. We enjoyed the rich, Mediterranean olive taste, and I enjoyed snacking on the leftovers at work knowing that it was a relatively low-calorie version of hummus. The olives are cheaper than tahini, too. I think I'll definitely make this again -- for basic snacking, I like that it gives a hummus flavor with less calories. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States