Holly's Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Light, delicious, fresh--this bean puree was wonderful. If you're a fan of Mediterranean flavors, this stuff will thrill you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evansville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This was my first stab at hummus and it turned out great! I added some sweet red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Really easy and very good, even without the tahini. I left out the basil but did use cilantro and it gave it a nice, fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I love this recipe for hummus-- the flavor is great. Any suggestions to help get the texture smooth like store-bought varieties? I've experimented with the portions of liquid, and tried blenders and food processors but can't seem to break down the chickpeas quite enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ccccaitie!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Great Recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I altered the recipe a bit and it turned out great - I used regular black pitted olives instead of the spanish ones, I used dried basil and parsley (i didn't have any cilantro). I also used 2 tbs of olive oil, not 3. YUM!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I like this hummus recipe! It was easy and I had all ingredients on hand. The only olives I have were green olives stuffed with jalapenos. It really gave it a good flavor and very spicy which I like. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Well I totally changed this recipe since I didn't have all the ingredients. I left out the olives, garlic, and cilantro and substituted the closest thing I had: about a tsp. of onion powder. It turned out fabulous any way and my hubby now wants to open a hummus shop after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Really Tasty! I recently bought some hummus from the local grocery store and was not too impressed. I had always wanted to make hummus on my own, and I finally did. Followed this recipe and it was great. Really recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mely1124

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Holly, I gotta give you props. This was so easy and delicious!!! I just made it for a NYE party and was so pleased about how cheap and easy it is to make. I made one version the "original" recipe, and I made one version with jalapeno and cayenne pepper. I omitted olives in both versions as I don't really like them. The hummus is lemony, garlicky, and perfectly balanced.... good as in any Lebanese restaurant. I will never buy store-bought again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States