Holly's Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Fantastic!! I will never buy hummus again. Easy to customize to your own tastes. I've added various things, all with success: sundried tomatoes, red pepper, kalamata olives. I also like the "raw" texture of mashing the ingredients together with a fork instead of using a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
5 stars for a basic recipe to change according to your taste...i love garlic so added more and i don't like olives so i left that out--easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
So easy and great taste, but did modify it to fit my pantry. First tip about hummus, de-skin the garbanzo beans, makes for a better consistency. Add about a dozen queen pimento stuffed olives and the same amount of jumbo pitted black olives. Added one clove garlic, chopped in the processor. Also a teaspoon cumin. Omitted the cilantro since I didn't have any, and viola! Chopped and grinded in the food processor to get the right smoothness. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
So yummy! I cut down on the oil a lot and just added some more lemon juice as well as only partially drained the chickpeas. Delicious and easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
YUM!! love the green olives in hummus! I added a little more lemon juice and about 1/3 cup of tahini paste (need to use it up and I've always put it in my hummus) Why don't I make hummus more often? I absolutely love it!! Made my own Zesty Pita Chips too-wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I LOVE this hummus. I usually used kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Awesome! While visiting a friend, she made this for us to snack on. I have since come home and made it for us. Love it! Love it! One addition to it. . .a sprinkle of cumin. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I think I may be addicted to this stuff. I used garlic stuffed green olives and it's heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
So easy! And lower fat. I definitely am going to try this making my own garbanzo beans instead of canned because it really affects the flavor. I also felt there was a bit too much lemon juice in this recipe for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I doubled the recipe, estimated the measurements, substituted lime for lemon juice and omitted the cilantro. I left the pimento in the green olives. Added powdered hot red pepper. It was good, even very good, but not great. So I looked at the Black Bean and Chickpea Hummus recipe and borrowed the black beans and curry powder from it. If I had grilled sweet red peppers on hand I would have added them also. It came out great and with 2 cans of chick peas and one can of black beans it was enough for me to bring to the girls at work for another game of "Look what I made!" I gave it 5 stars because it was exactly what I was looking for as a base to make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrimpstuffedmanicott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States