Holly's Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Fantastic!! I will never buy hummus again. Easy to customize to your own tastes. I've added various things, all with success: sundried tomatoes, red pepper, kalamata olives. I also like the "raw" texture of mashing the ingredients together with a fork instead of using a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
5 stars for a basic recipe to change according to your taste...i love garlic so added more and i don't like olives so i left that out--easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
So easy and great taste, but did modify it to fit my pantry. First tip about hummus, de-skin the garbanzo beans, makes for a better consistency. Add about a dozen queen pimento stuffed olives and the same amount of jumbo pitted black olives. Added one clove garlic, chopped in the processor. Also a teaspoon cumin. Omitted the cilantro since I didn't have any, and viola! Chopped and grinded in the food processor to get the right smoothness. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
So yummy! I cut down on the oil a lot and just added some more lemon juice as well as only partially drained the chickpeas. Delicious and easy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
YUM!! love the green olives in hummus! I added a little more lemon juice and about 1/3 cup of tahini paste (need to use it up and I've always put it in my hummus) Why don't I make hummus more often? I absolutely love it!! Made my own Zesty Pita Chips too-wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I LOVE this hummus. I usually used kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Awesome! While visiting a friend, she made this for us to snack on. I have since come home and made it for us. Love it! Love it! One addition to it. . .a sprinkle of cumin. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I think I may be addicted to this stuff. I used garlic stuffed green olives and it's heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
So easy! And lower fat. I definitely am going to try this making my own garbanzo beans instead of canned because it really affects the flavor. I also felt there was a bit too much lemon juice in this recipe for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I doubled the recipe, estimated the measurements, substituted lime for lemon juice and omitted the cilantro. I left the pimento in the green olives. Added powdered hot red pepper. It was good, even very good, but not great. So I looked at the Black Bean and Chickpea Hummus recipe and borrowed the black beans and curry powder from it. If I had grilled sweet red peppers on hand I would have added them also. It came out great and with 2 cans of chick peas and one can of black beans it was enough for me to bring to the girls at work for another game of "Look what I made!" I gave it 5 stars because it was exactly what I was looking for as a base to make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shrimpstuffedmanicott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States