Holly's Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Love this recipe - have been making for for a couple of years. I use it as a base and have tried a couple of different things. I add a little bit of sesame oil, and black olive or sun-dried tomatoes. Love homemade hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I found this recipe to be quite good - but I did a few tweaks... I doubled the recipe and used quite a bit more garlic than what was called for (I love garlic). I also used more than what was called for on the basil and cilantro. I also added a couple tablespoons of water after I heard some complain about the consistency being too thick. I only used probably 1/4 cup of the olives in the doubled recipe, and I added about 2 extra tablespoons of fresh lemon juice (I like tangy, too). To finish, because I like some heat with my hummus, I added about a 1/2 tablespoon of cayenne pepper. With all those changes, it tastes fantastic! I love that it's healthy, too. :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Easy hummus recipe and delicious. Only addition I made was to add diced tomatoes and green chiles. Gave it a great taste and the texture wasn't as thick. Next time I'm adding a can of black beans. So much fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
i used jalapeno garlic green olives. i like mine spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I really liked this hummus recipe, however, I did think that the garlic was overpowering...so much so, that I added an additional can of garbanzo beans, hoping that it would dilute the garlic flavor. For me (and I love garlic), it was still too garlicky tasting. However, everyone at my party loved it. Maybe my tastebuds are too sensitive to garlic, perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This the best I've ever tasted !!!!!!!!!! Yum yum thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I felt it needed a little tahini(added large tablespoon to the recipe) to feel like real hummas. I thought this was very good! I doubled the recipe and so may have used a little more basil and cilantro leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
An instant standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I will never buy hummus from a store again! This was such an easy and delicious recipe. I love it, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Not impressed. Not sure what I did wrong, I made it exactly to the recipe, but I was underwhelmed. Don't find it "zesty" or "light". Maybe add'l lemon juice or some cayenne pepper would help things. Consistency was thick, and it lacked pizazz for me. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDUB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States