Holly's Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Simple and tasty. Be careful on the seasoning. Between the olives and about 1/2 teaspoon of salt, it had plenty! 1/4 teaspoon might be a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris McCoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I think this is really tasty. Be aware that this tastes like an olive hummus, rather than a hummus with a traditional tahini taste, so I consider this more a recipe for a specialty hummus than for a basic hummus. That being said, this was a hit with my family and friends. We enjoyed the rich, Mediterranean olive taste, and I enjoyed snacking on the leftovers at work knowing that it was a relatively low-calorie version of hummus. The olives are cheaper than tahini, too. I think I'll definitely make this again -- for basic snacking, I like that it gives a hummus flavor with less calories. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Thanks for the hummus recipe. I altered the recipe by adding two roasted, red pepper strips, cayenne pepper and used green and black olives. I think it is a good base hummus recipe for anyone who likes to add other God-made things to their foods. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I LOVE hummus, and this is a really great basic recipe. Personally, I'm not a friend of olives, so I left them out, and I bumped up the amount of garlic to 4 cloves minimum (dude, hummus is ALL ABOUT garlic!), and it's excellent every time. My husband raves whenever I make it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I looove this hummus! I needed a good hummus recipe that didn't require tahini, and this is it! I eliminated the olives, added a bit more garlic and about half a little jar of roasted red peppers. It was DELICIOUS, and there are so many variations you could make on this. I'll never eat store-bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Smithton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
What have I been spending $3.99 on tiny tubs of hummus for??? Had no idea how easy it would be to make this - thank you so much - delicious! I can't wait to try my favorite variations i.e. roasted red pepper, roasted garlic, etc... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Very Good! I used a few sprigs of fresh cilantro and a few sprinkles of dried basil. I like to save and add 1-2 T. of juice from the beans and cut back on the oil a bit. I added less garlic because I was afraid it would be overpowering by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
this is a great recipe for hummus, I was so afraid not to use tahini and not get the measurements "just right" but i made some awesome hummus today thanks to this recipe!! I used black olives (left overs from last night) and a dash of everything else. Its a great basic recipe to add to! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is tasty, and the olives are a good substitute for tahini which can be quite expensive. I added extra garlic, basil and cilantro for my personal taste. It was very thick so I added a little water bit by bit until it was the consistency I wanted. It was fantastic with my homemade pita chips and raw carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was really yummy. I did add more garlic, and less salt, but other then that it was perfect. I love it as a dip with carrots and bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States