Holly's Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Simple and tasty. Be careful on the seasoning. Between the olives and about 1/2 teaspoon of salt, it had plenty! 1/4 teaspoon might be a good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris McCoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I think this is really tasty. Be aware that this tastes like an olive hummus, rather than a hummus with a traditional tahini taste, so I consider this more a recipe for a specialty hummus than for a basic hummus. That being said, this was a hit with my family and friends. We enjoyed the rich, Mediterranean olive taste, and I enjoyed snacking on the leftovers at work knowing that it was a relatively low-calorie version of hummus. The olives are cheaper than tahini, too. I think I'll definitely make this again -- for basic snacking, I like that it gives a hummus flavor with less calories. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Thanks for the hummus recipe. I altered the recipe by adding two roasted, red pepper strips, cayenne pepper and used green and black olives. I think it is a good base hummus recipe for anyone who likes to add other God-made things to their foods. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I LOVE hummus, and this is a really great basic recipe. Personally, I'm not a friend of olives, so I left them out, and I bumped up the amount of garlic to 4 cloves minimum (dude, hummus is ALL ABOUT garlic!), and it's excellent every time. My husband raves whenever I make it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I looove this hummus! I needed a good hummus recipe that didn't require tahini, and this is it! I eliminated the olives, added a bit more garlic and about half a little jar of roasted red peppers. It was DELICIOUS, and there are so many variations you could make on this. I'll never eat store-bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Smithton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
What have I been spending $3.99 on tiny tubs of hummus for??? Had no idea how easy it would be to make this - thank you so much - delicious! I can't wait to try my favorite variations i.e. roasted red pepper, roasted garlic, etc... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Very Good! I used a few sprigs of fresh cilantro and a few sprinkles of dried basil. I like to save and add 1-2 T. of juice from the beans and cut back on the oil a bit. I added less garlic because I was afraid it would be overpowering by the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
this is a great recipe for hummus, I was so afraid not to use tahini and not get the measurements "just right" but i made some awesome hummus today thanks to this recipe!! I used black olives (left overs from last night) and a dash of everything else. Its a great basic recipe to add to! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is tasty, and the olives are a good substitute for tahini which can be quite expensive. I added extra garlic, basil and cilantro for my personal taste. It was very thick so I added a little water bit by bit until it was the consistency I wanted. It was fantastic with my homemade pita chips and raw carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was really yummy. I did add more garlic, and less salt, but other then that it was perfect. I love it as a dip with carrots and bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States