Holly's Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Ridiculously easy to make, even if you don't have a food processor. I managed with a potato masher to mash the peas, and a hand-mixer for the rest. I'm sure a spoon would have sufficed. I feel that it needs more lemon juice, can't have too much lemon juice, and instead of adding salt I poured in some kalamata olive brine for moisture, salt, and flavour. The beauty of this recipe is that it's so easy to modify to taste. I'm tempted to sit here spooning it out of the tub, unaccompanied!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feralgreens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This was my first hummus and it was a hit! I may have added a little more cilantro and basil because I don't usually measure that when it is fresh,but this was delicious with fresh veggies. I will keep this one handy for company always!! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynznest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
First time making any hummus. I didn't want to use any oil and I didn't have any lemon juice so I used lime juice. No olives. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This hummus is delicious! I used stuffed manzanillas but left out the salt. No need for it considering the salt content in the olives. Comes out nice and creamy. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I omitted the olives and doubled the garlic. A+ stuff! I haven't had hummus in years and I had some chickpeas to use up. Thanks a bunch! I'll be having a lot of pita! PS - A dash of cumin MAKES this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Fast and easy, as I had no tahini on hand but unfortunately I didn't like the taste of this recipe. Perhaps because of the olives...but still gave it 3 stars for ease of the recipe...and I love trying new things and I also love ANY olive! I was sad that I didn't like this one so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericablueeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Love this recipe - have been making for for a couple of years. I use it as a base and have tried a couple of different things. I add a little bit of sesame oil, and black olive or sun-dried tomatoes. Love homemade hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I found this recipe to be quite good - but I did a few tweaks... I doubled the recipe and used quite a bit more garlic than what was called for (I love garlic). I also used more than what was called for on the basil and cilantro. I also added a couple tablespoons of water after I heard some complain about the consistency being too thick. I only used probably 1/4 cup of the olives in the doubled recipe, and I added about 2 extra tablespoons of fresh lemon juice (I like tangy, too). To finish, because I like some heat with my hummus, I added about a 1/2 tablespoon of cayenne pepper. With all those changes, it tastes fantastic! I love that it's healthy, too. :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Easy hummus recipe and delicious. Only addition I made was to add diced tomatoes and green chiles. Gave it a great taste and the texture wasn't as thick. Next time I'm adding a can of black beans. So much fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
i used jalapeno garlic green olives. i like mine spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States