Holly's Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Thanks for the hummus recipe. I altered the recipe by adding two roasted, red pepper strips, cayenne pepper and used green and black olives. I think it is a good base hummus recipe for anyone who likes to add other God-made things to their foods. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is tasty, and the olives are a good substitute for tahini which can be quite expensive. I added extra garlic, basil and cilantro for my personal taste. It was very thick so I added a little water bit by bit until it was the consistency I wanted. It was fantastic with my homemade pita chips and raw carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is the best hummus I've had so far. I keep trying to find the perfect recipe for hummus. I think it's the green olives that make it for me. I'm going to try some other additions as well. But NICE JOB! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holly3211

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Fabulous! I omitted the olives and extra salt/pepper (canned garbanzos already have salt in them), added 3 tbsp of lemon juice instead of 2, and was generous with the cilantro. It was perfect! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is really delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and used pita chips for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I looove this hummus! I needed a good hummus recipe that didn't require tahini, and this is it! I eliminated the olives, added a bit more garlic and about half a little jar of roasted red peppers. It was DELICIOUS, and there are so many variations you could make on this. I'll never eat store-bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Smithton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Great recipe! I did not have cilantro or basil, and this was still excellent. I did not add any extra salt, and decreased the olive oil by one tablespoon. Great for a party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very good. I would suggest trying green olives as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcmeg12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
I loved the olive taste - it was a great addition to this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
What have I been spending $3.99 on tiny tubs of hummus for??? Had no idea how easy it would be to make this - thank you so much - delicious! I can't wait to try my favorite variations i.e. roasted red pepper, roasted garlic, etc... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States