Holly's Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Didn't change a thing, it was wonderful. Family members raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was kind of a last minute-family dosen't want Burrito Pie kind of dinner. I cut this recipe down by half and used two very large BLSL chicken breasts that I pounded down semi-thin and cut into largish chunks. Before adding the chicken to the casserole, I did lightly bread it with a little whole-wheat white flour, onion/garlic powder, paprika, oregano and fresh ground pepper and browned it in a little EVOO. I did not have green onions so I used one small yellow onion. I did make my own cream of chicken soup from scratch (I try my best to make what I can from scratch without using processed products or high fat ingredients) while incorporating a little of the sour cream. I cooked the onions (with a few minced cloves of garlic) after I browned the chicken in the hot EVOO, then added a little glug of white wine to deglaze the pan, then a cup and a half or so of organic chicken broth. I let the sauce reduce, then wisked in about a 1/4 cup or so of reduced fat sour cream and just a touch of fat free half-n-half. Wa-la, cream of chicken soup without using processed foods! I'll tell you, my family loved this casserole. Even my picky kid who will darn near turn his nose up at anything scarfed two helpings. I had one bite and thought it was heaven. Next time, I'll serve this with homemade fluffy biscuits. Just a side salad wasn't enough for my boys. You needed something to soak up the extra sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Yumo! I made that tonight, this recipie rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firewife2104
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this tonight for my parents and the three of us ate every drop of it! You could tell that my dad was a little suspicious when I mentioned that I was gonna cook them dinner but I found this recipe and decided that it would fit well with everything else I had for the meal. It was absolutely delicious and fairly easy to make! I cut the recipe in half because there were only three of us eating it and there was more then enough. Made a few adjustments including ditching the cornflakes and using seasoned bread crumbs instead and they worked very well. Served it with a nice microbrewed IPA from Asheville,NC and it was heaven. one note: The more cheese the better...i used swiss and parmesean and it worked incredibly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chris hickie
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Auh-mazing recipes! The only changes I made where reducing everything by half since I didn't need 12 servings and didn't put the corn-flake mixture on the bottom solely because I forgot! Amazing taste and easy prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is a very easy and tasty meal! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I made this last night and loved it. It is a big recipe so I made a half -- with plenty left over to freeze in serving portions. This is going to be my new recipe for Book Club when it is my turn to be hostess, but it is not just a "ladies' luncheon" recipe. My husband liked it a lot! Because I was pressed for time I bought pre-grilled, seasoned and sliced chicken strips and they were good. (I had never used them before. I used 4 - 6 oz. bags from "Tyson's") I did chop the ham because I had it on hand, but saw packages in the meat counter of pre-diced ham. When in a pinch I will try that, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Oh my was this good! I served it tonight and got one comment that it tasted like a 5-star restaurant! I do think I will change a few things next time. There was too much of everything to fit in my 9x13 baking dish. I could probably have gotten by with about half of the chicken and half of the cheese. It also seemed like there wasn't quite enough of the soup/sour cream mixture, so will probably double up on that next time. i was worried about it spilling over in the oven, so put down a sheet of aluminum foil. Thankfully, it didn't spill over. Will enjoy this again and again. Thanks for sharing Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bridget
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is absolutely wonderful. I made it late one night and then got it out the next night and it was even better. Perfect dish to prepare ahead of time for guests. My friends said they thought it was the best thing they ever tasted. Thanks for the reciped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I fed a group of 7 with this recipe, and everyone loved it! It's even great next day, reheated! I used the precooked chicken and sliced ham that I then cut into squares. I only used three or four green onions, too. Other than that, I made it by the book, and it was certainly delicious! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States