Holly's Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Wow ... I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I don't actually like Chicken Cordon Bleu. However, after reading the reviews and tweaking a bit, this turned out super yummy. It will be a favorite I am sure. I halved the recipe as I am cooking for two but want lots of leftovers. I sauteed the green onions & mushrooms in EVOO and butter to begin with. (I also added a couple cloves of garlic.) I removed the veggies and sauteed the chicken breasts and then the cubed ham. After removing the meat, I deglazed the pan with white wine, reduced it, added flour, 1 tsp. powdered chicken stock, cream, milk & sour cream to create a yummy sauce rather than using the canned soup. I layered per the recipe and skipped the final melted butter. I opted to use the cornflake crumbs rather than substitute Ritz crackers as some others suggested and I am glad I did. We both felt the cornflake crumbs added a ton of flavor. All I can say is, "YUM!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this recipe as written, with the exception of cutting it in half. My personal taste.....I didn't care for the green onion in it and I would have preferred the mushrooms in smaller pieces but other than that it is a great recipe!! Very flavorful and a nice twist on chicken cordon bleu!!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I cut this recipe back and it was still a little bit too much for us. I cooked it exactly as it said, but it was lacking some flavor. I believe that some garlic and onions would up the flavor tremendously so the next time I try it I will be adding that. I also think that using shredded or ground chicken would work much better. Chunks/strips were a bit cumbersome, I also think that a cheese mixture would bump up of the flavor. All in all, it is a good recipe but it just needs some modifications for our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Very Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is a good recipe, I did use ritz crackers instead of cornflakes because that is what I had on hand. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this for dinner last night - and the end result was just okay. I added sauteed onion and garlic in with the chicken mixture, I cut the recipe in half and reduced the amount of cheese (to 2 cups), chicken (to 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts) and breadcrumbs (to 1.5 cups). I found the dish to be good, but not great - just not worth the fat and calories IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
easy + yummy, cant ask for much more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe, though I will probably use a little less cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yummy. Reduced cheese. Added green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States