Holly's Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Wow ... I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I don't actually like Chicken Cordon Bleu. However, after reading the reviews and tweaking a bit, this turned out super yummy. It will be a favorite I am sure. I halved the recipe as I am cooking for two but want lots of leftovers. I sauteed the green onions & mushrooms in EVOO and butter to begin with. (I also added a couple cloves of garlic.) I removed the veggies and sauteed the chicken breasts and then the cubed ham. After removing the meat, I deglazed the pan with white wine, reduced it, added flour, 1 tsp. powdered chicken stock, cream, milk & sour cream to create a yummy sauce rather than using the canned soup. I layered per the recipe and skipped the final melted butter. I opted to use the cornflake crumbs rather than substitute Ritz crackers as some others suggested and I am glad I did. We both felt the cornflake crumbs added a ton of flavor. All I can say is, "YUM!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Livingston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I made this recipe as written, with the exception of cutting it in half. My personal taste.....I didn't care for the green onion in it and I would have preferred the mushrooms in smaller pieces but other than that it is a great recipe!! Very flavorful and a nice twist on chicken cordon bleu!!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attica, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I cut this recipe back and it was still a little bit too much for us. I cooked it exactly as it said, but it was lacking some flavor. I believe that some garlic and onions would up the flavor tremendously so the next time I try it I will be adding that. I also think that using shredded or ground chicken would work much better. Chunks/strips were a bit cumbersome, I also think that a cheese mixture would bump up of the flavor. All in all, it is a good recipe but it just needs some modifications for our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjam1303

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Very Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garner, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is a good recipe, I did use ritz crackers instead of cornflakes because that is what I had on hand. We will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this for dinner last night - and the end result was just okay. I added sauteed onion and garlic in with the chicken mixture, I cut the recipe in half and reduced the amount of cheese (to 2 cups), chicken (to 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts) and breadcrumbs (to 1.5 cups). I found the dish to be good, but not great - just not worth the fat and calories IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
easy + yummy, cant ask for much more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe, though I will probably use a little less cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yummy. Reduced cheese. Added green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States