Holly's Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
We were not a huge fan of this. I am glad I scaled down the recipe to six servings. I roasted two big chicken breasts w/ salt, pepper and olive oil in the oven. When cooled chopped it up into small chunks. Used good ham and no scallions. I even spiced it up with pepper, garlic powder, and dried onion. Instead of corn flakes I used Ritz which was good. 3 Cups of Swiss was a lot and only used 1 cup. I picked out the chicken and my husband ate the rest. I don't think I will be making this again and will stick to the traditional Chicken Cordon Bleu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I will have to try it again as written. I didnt have cornflakes so I used bread crumbs - a mistake as they were quite mushy. Mine took longer to cook than stated. Sauce was ok. Worth another attempt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
First off I may have messed this recipe up because adding the butter to the cornfalek crumbs just made balls. Next, Way too much cheese. The casserole ended up bland. I don't know how especially with sour cream. I am suresomething must have gone wrong but I went right along with the directions. I was hoping for chicken cordon blue but I ended up with a greesy, tastless chicken melt with a crumb topping that had a wierd texture. I threw it out. I won't try it again! I would have added veggies for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christopher

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This was great! A real keeper. NOTE: I scaled it to 6 servings not 12. I followed the suggestions of other posts-- sauteed 8oz (not 4oz) mushrooms, added garlic, and a small onion and deglazed with 2/3c of wine. I skipped the scallions. I put paprika, onion powder, sage and mustard powder in plain bread crumbs and used extra butter in them for the crumb layer and I only put it on top. My scaled version called for 2c crumbs but I should have made only 1 cup+. I put peas in the mushroom layer. I used 16 oz of tyson grilled strips cut into chunks. I used only 2c swiss when my scaled version called for 3c, it was plenty of cheese. It was creamy and very flavorful due to the extra mushrooms,garlic, and the wine deglazing. Also my crumb layer was delish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Hubby really liked but I thought it was just okay. It needed more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Made this exactly as recipe stated & even the pickiest eater LOVED it..All of us LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Love this recipe! I use shaved deli ham though, and it always turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kennyhaus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Very good! My husband loved it. I would have given it five stars but it's just not a dish that I would make often because it is sort of "heavy". The recipe was very easy. The only change I made was only making one layer of each ingrediant. It just seemed silly to layer the chicken twice. Will def make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
What a clever idea. Am so glad I came across this recipe! It makes a ton, in the future unless I am entertaining, I may have to cut in half. I love Chicken Cordon Bleu, it's a guilty pleasure of mine, so this really hit the spot for me. I did season it up more, added more mushrooms, etc. It is extremely rich. I served it as a topping for pasta. I would think it would be extremely rich to just eat as a main course alone. My husband has been begging for me to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuba Sugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I just made this for dinner... it was FABULOUS! so much flavour! I needed a recipe to get rid of some left over ham from the night before. I used low fat soup, fat free sour cream, and low fat swiss to help lighten the calorie load and it was delicious :) will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States