Holly's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
A traditional Schwarzfelder Kirschtorte (Black Forest Cherry Cake) uses Schwarzfelder Kirschwasser-Black Forest Cherry Schnapps. You should use a cherry liquor instead of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Monster!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Made it for a potluck didn't come home with a crumb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
It absolutely gets high scores for being quick which is very nice but it's too sweet. If I make it again I'll try adding more chocolate and cutting on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Where to begin... Well, this recipe produced a very dense cake (and not in the dense = fudgy sense). It was heavy and actually a bit bland. The frosting? Well, I only added 3 cups of confectioners sugar, and it was virtually too thick to spread. I had to use a hot spatula to get it to spread evenly. I would not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I made it for my boyfriend's birthday and everyone simply thought it was delicious. One thing though, I had sprinkled flour on the cake tray before I put the cakes in, so there was powder flour on the cake tray and at the bottom of the cake as I was serving. It was a little embarrassing, and I would not use flour as a non-stick apparatus anymore. Nevertheless, everyone enjoyed it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This cake was absolutely great! Exactly what I was looking for and a wonderful addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
I was expecting it to be much better. It was not worth all the work. Everyone enjoyed it enyway and it was very pretty. I decorated the cake with the cherries, whipped cream, and chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States