Holly's Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
A traditional Schwarzfelder Kirschtorte (Black Forest Cherry Cake) uses Schwarzfelder Kirschwasser-Black Forest Cherry Schnapps. You should use a cherry liquor instead of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Monster!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Made it for a potluck didn't come home with a crumb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
It absolutely gets high scores for being quick which is very nice but it's too sweet. If I make it again I'll try adding more chocolate and cutting on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2004
Where to begin... Well, this recipe produced a very dense cake (and not in the dense = fudgy sense). It was heavy and actually a bit bland. The frosting? Well, I only added 3 cups of confectioners sugar, and it was virtually too thick to spread. I had to use a hot spatula to get it to spread evenly. I would not make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I made it for my boyfriend's birthday and everyone simply thought it was delicious. One thing though, I had sprinkled flour on the cake tray before I put the cakes in, so there was powder flour on the cake tray and at the bottom of the cake as I was serving. It was a little embarrassing, and I would not use flour as a non-stick apparatus anymore. Nevertheless, everyone enjoyed it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaling Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia
Living In: La Grange Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2001
This cake was absolutely great! Exactly what I was looking for and a wonderful addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erwin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
I was expecting it to be much better. It was not worth all the work. Everyone enjoyed it enyway and it was very pretty. I decorated the cake with the cherries, whipped cream, and chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States