Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Grew up on these. I find shaping the wreathes to be a pain in the you-know-what! I use a teaspoon to make a "drop cookie" and press the candies into that. Good enough for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I guess I haven't found the magic touch for these. I love these when others make then but for some reason mine don't work out. My first batch didn't turn out, they were too hot to handle so I waited for them to cool, but then they became too stiff to mold. My second batch I let them cool a little, not completely, but then they wouldn't stay together when I molded them they just fell apart. Anybody have any tips for me? What's the secret to making these great christmas cookie wreaths?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
It isn't Christmas in our house until we have had our green wreath cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These are quite messy to work with and difficult to shape into wreaths. If you are going to make them, make sure to refridgerate them for a couple of hours before serving them. They are quite gooey and need to set before they can be eaten. They taste good and kids think they are fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Very impossible to shape, but they tasted really good so it was worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess51725

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I like how these turn out. The only problem that I had was that if I made them more than a day before they were going to be eaten....they did get a little soggy. They look great....thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Really gooey but tasty! Doubled the recipe and only got about 40 of them. Also I did not shape into wreaths I just left them in a blob, still looked very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
A good recipie and much like rice crispy treats if you like them. I may cut back on the marshmallows (or add more corn flakes) as this recipie was very sticky and hard to "shape". I used mint flavored m&m's which worked well and had an interesting flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This recipe is awesome! We make these every Christmas. Instead of using M&M's, we use red hots. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
My favorite Christmas recipe!!! I've made these for years and sometimes during the year too- excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States