Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is an old family tradition at my house for christmas. They look great on a tray of holiday cookies. Every batch turns out different as far as too gooey, perfect, dry.....follow others suggestions listed in reviews. I make them every year and have it down to an art.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I always had these cookies at Christmas growing up. They never last long. They are delicious and very easy to make. Just make sure you put ALOT of butter on your hands when shaping them because they are very sticky! I put them on non-stick foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwifekg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Oh My Gosh, what a mess. I would say dont make this recipe unless your like eating off of wax paper. They taste good but I could even get them off the wax paper once I was done. I only used this recipe because of all of the great reviews on it, but trust me they are wrong. My grandma make these and they dont stick to the wax paper which is really nice. I'll be post the recipe so keep checking for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I couldn't find my holly cookie recipe and needed to check online for the marshmallow/butter ratio. We always use mint extract though instead of vanilla. I've tried many times to make them into actual wreaths but always end up making holly "clumps"! I use red hot sometimes and red mini M&Ms sometimes. Put them on tinfoil that has been sprayed or buttered. Pop them into the freezer for a while before removing. I store them in the freezer to. That way there are some left! My daughter loves to be involved and put the candies on. It makes it easier having extra hands. Thanks for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
The kids and I had a great time preparing this classic and we all enjoyed. Get ready to move quickly before the heated flakes begin to set-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Growing up, we used this recipe to make holly leaves w/berries instead of wreaths. They made great garnish for decorating other Christmas goodies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I remember making these in grade school! I'm glad I found the recipe again, these are delicious and super cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This is a great resipe. I loed it when I tried it.I say that the creater of this resipe is a great cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Homosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
Grew up on these. I find shaping the wreathes to be a pain in the you-know-what! I use a teaspoon to make a "drop cookie" and press the candies into that. Good enough for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harvard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I guess I haven't found the magic touch for these. I love these when others make then but for some reason mine don't work out. My first batch didn't turn out, they were too hot to handle so I waited for them to cool, but then they became too stiff to mold. My second batch I let them cool a little, not completely, but then they wouldn't stay together when I molded them they just fell apart. Anybody have any tips for me? What's the secret to making these great christmas cookie wreaths?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States