Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I love these "cookies." I've been making them with my mom since I was little. One tip for molding them, if you don't want to get your hands all buttery and green: put plastic baggies on your hands like gloves and rub butter on the baggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
My family has been making these since I was a little girl, and they are always everyone's favorite. We don't shape them into wreaths, we just make them into drop cookies because the marshmallow is too hot. And we put 3 red hots on every cookie so it looks like holly berries. Also, you can make them for other holidays if you change the color of food coloring, and use M&M's. We like to make them for easter too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I don't really like the red hots on these because they are too hard to eat and I just don't like cinnamon that much. So I use red skittles and they are sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I am so thrilled to find this recipe. My mother always made these each Christmas for my children (who are now grown). We did not get the "recipe" from Granny before she passed, so I am going to make this for them this Christmas!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
If you're having trouble forming these, you may have over- or under-cooked the marshmallow mix. After it gets smooth and melted, I cook it about another minute before adding the corn flakes. Any longer and it's too hot to touch and they get hard too fast. Any shorter and they stay too gooey -- won't set except in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
There cookies turned out cute but i found it really tedious to make the wreath holes. So what i did was, dolloped them and let them set a bit then i tried the tin foil thing it didn't work. So i just put butter on my fingers and formed the holes so the marshmallow wouldn't stick and it worked out awesome!! hope this helps!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Koski
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This is the exact recipe that my mother and i made when i was growing up. We used almond extract instead of vanilla but otherwise its exact. Awesome awesome recipe one of my favorite treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Thank you for reminding me of one of my favorite holiday treats. I was so excited to be able to share this recipe with my 6-year old daughter this Christmas. I added a splash of almond extract and the vanilla extract called for in the recipe. I lined my baking sheets with wax paper and sprayed them with cooking spray and had no issues with them sticking. I used the 16oz bag of large marshmallows that the recipe called for and found that I did have to add about an extra cup of cornflakes to reach the correct texture. I handled the hot mixture and my daughter went behind me and added red M&M's instead of red hots - she doesn't like the red hots. We both loved them and look forward to making them again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I made this using the 16 oz. bag of marshmallows, but kept adding corn flakes until it was the right consistency. I dropped them onto the greased aluminum foil and poked my finger in the middle and formed the wreath. The cookies got lots of attention, but not many takers. If you like rice krispie treats, they're fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are awesome-I have loved these for many years! I don't put the vanilla in when I make these. The marshmallow mixture is very sticky, so it's important to spray your spoon and hands with non-stick cooking spray when handling these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States