Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
this taste delicious. not too sweet, but why isn't it crunchy? did i add the cereal in too quickly? am i supposed to wait until the marshmallow mixture cools a bit? (my niece made this and it stayed crisp for hours)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made several doz of cookies this Christmas and this was gooey and sticky. I probably just did something wrong but I refuse to try again! Hope you have better luck than I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckay6751

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Super yummy. I remember these from my childhood. I used a 10 oz bag and just kept adding food coloring and then corn flakes until I liked the consistency. I made little holly bushes instead of wreaths because they were easier. I also used m&ms (red) for the berries because we don't care for cinnamon candy. They look beautiful and unfortunately I can't seem to stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
easy for very sticky and gooey. won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was a perfect recipe. Very easy to make and my family loved them. Thanks for helping me to renew an old family traditional favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
They are easy to make, but they are sticky and gooey. Maybe that is great for some, but I find them rather unappetizing. Couldn't find the old fashioned kind of liquid food coloring and could not get the wreaths a dark enough green. I used an entire tube of the new gel food coloring and they ended up a dark pastel green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozzi80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Worked out perfect. I used parchment paper instead of wax paper, and cut back on my butter a bit. I also used a 10 ounce package of marshmallows. They came out awesome. I tried making these last year and they were a disaster (different recipe) but wanted to give it one more try, and these came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was really easy. Tastes really good, but uses alot of marshmalows. Really yummy, but NOT good for people who watch their weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My sister-in-law and I make these cookies every year. We save this cookie for last, because your gonna have to sit down and get messy. Using butter on your hands helps form the wreaths, and letting the mixture cool after adding the corn flakes hleps as well. A lot of fun and will be a tradion in our family for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I'm not sure what we did wrong with this recipe, but I will not be using it again. I added about 3 extra cups of cornflakes and still couldn't shape them into wreaths. We ended up with blobs of green cornflakes. At least they taste ok, but I can't use them in my cookie exchanges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States