Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I have been making these for years! My kids really don't care for the Cinnamon candies so I have created "Mistletoe". Using white non-pariels or decorating pearls, you now have Mistletoe as well as Holly's! I just never used Vanilla Extract in my recipe, used the Rice Crispy treat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
So good! The red hots don't even taste hot when you eat them as part of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Not only do these make the cookie tray look beautiful but they are delicious! I substituted Special K cereal for a taste that comes closer to the good ol' Rice Krispie Treats. Instead of red hots, I use Teaberry candies. They're smaller size is more attractive and they add a subtle touch of a very unique flavor, bit of a surprise actually! I purchase my teaberry candies at a local Amish Bulk store. Not everyone likes red hots and so far everyone enjoys the teaberry twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Just made these for Christmas, and am still waiting for them to chill in the fridge. I used a 10.5 oz bag of the mini mallows. So I cut the butter down to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2cup. I also cut the food coloring and vanilla down to 1 tsp, instead of 1 1/2 tsp. I used parchment paper and some cooking spray and so far they seem okay on the stickiness. I did not form wreaths, but went with the holly leaves idea that others have posted. They still look very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momoffive

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I make these with my daughter every year, and we LOVE them. We do need to use a LOT more food coloring and probably 2 cups more cereal. Dropping the mix into cupcake cups set into cupcake pans keeps everything clean and easy. Also helps retain the shape of the cookie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by delish
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
The best Christmas cookie I've seen on this site! Delicious, fun and easy to make and an eye-pleaser! My kids scarfed them down! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Made these for a cookie swap at work and they turned out great! Used less marshmallows, and just dropped them on wax paper instead of forming into wreath. Still looked and tasted amazing! Easy and quick to make - but looks so cute and festive! Will definitely be making more of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is from a cookbook from the 1960's at the very least. I have it sitting in my kitchen. Yep, we've been making these cookies for years too. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made these for the Holidays and gave as gifts on the cookie plates. The taste is great. They are oh so pretty. I used hospital type rubber gloves and it made shaping them so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe! My kids go crazy for it!!!! I agree with alot of the other reviews......do NOT use a whole bag of marshmallows unless you want a big goo pile ): I used 3/4 a bag (the 16oz. bag). Works out great!! I let them cool on parchment paper, they don't stick at all! I ran out of green food coloring so I used yellow and blue. This is a staple "cookie" at Christmas for me (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States