Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Not only do these make the cookie tray look beautiful but they are delicious! I substituted Special K cereal for a taste that comes closer to the good ol' Rice Krispie Treats. Instead of red hots, I use Teaberry candies. They're smaller size is more attractive and they add a subtle touch of a very unique flavor, bit of a surprise actually! I purchase my teaberry candies at a local Amish Bulk store. Not everyone likes red hots and so far everyone enjoys the teaberry twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Just made these for Christmas, and am still waiting for them to chill in the fridge. I used a 10.5 oz bag of the mini mallows. So I cut the butter down to 1/3 cup instead of 1/2cup. I also cut the food coloring and vanilla down to 1 tsp, instead of 1 1/2 tsp. I used parchment paper and some cooking spray and so far they seem okay on the stickiness. I did not form wreaths, but went with the holly leaves idea that others have posted. They still look very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momoffive

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I make these with my daughter every year, and we LOVE them. We do need to use a LOT more food coloring and probably 2 cups more cereal. Dropping the mix into cupcake cups set into cupcake pans keeps everything clean and easy. Also helps retain the shape of the cookie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by delish
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
The best Christmas cookie I've seen on this site! Delicious, fun and easy to make and an eye-pleaser! My kids scarfed them down! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Made these for a cookie swap at work and they turned out great! Used less marshmallows, and just dropped them on wax paper instead of forming into wreath. Still looked and tasted amazing! Easy and quick to make - but looks so cute and festive! Will definitely be making more of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
This is from a cookbook from the 1960's at the very least. I have it sitting in my kitchen. Yep, we've been making these cookies for years too. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Made these for the Holidays and gave as gifts on the cookie plates. The taste is great. They are oh so pretty. I used hospital type rubber gloves and it made shaping them so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I absolutely love this recipe! My kids go crazy for it!!!! I agree with alot of the other reviews......do NOT use a whole bag of marshmallows unless you want a big goo pile ): I used 3/4 a bag (the 16oz. bag). Works out great!! I let them cool on parchment paper, they don't stick at all! I ran out of green food coloring so I used yellow and blue. This is a staple "cookie" at Christmas for me (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
a favorite of my family & friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UptownChef

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I used to help grandmother make these cookies. You MUST USE FRESH MARSHMALLOWS. Try using craft sticks to help with shaping the wreaths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States