Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This works! I used salted butter and didn't add any salt. The most important part is the whisking. And the cold water trick is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di4367

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Really good - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Great Recipe! So easy too. I used salted butter, so there was no need to add any salt. I didn't have white pepper, so I omitted that too. The sauce turned out perfectly. Perfect consistency and flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I have had Hollandaise with lemon before but I prefer mine made with vinegar. I was taught by my father before whisks were available for home cooks. I stood at the stove with a flat saucepan over a simmering pot of water. I stirred the yolks with a fork till lemon yellow. Added the butter one drop (in the beginning) at a time till emulsified. It was wonderful. Now I put the eggs yolks (broken), salt, cayenne, vinegar in a jar and shake and shake and then add the warm butter. Then it's a question of how long you want to shake. Great on veggies, bread or even your finger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very easy and very yummy! Pleasured my porterhouse steak with it and was absolutely fabulous! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've never made hollandaise sauce before, and this came out great! I made it straight from the recipe, no alterations (except that I didn't have white pepper, so I used a bit of black)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is the worst recipe for hollandaise sauce that I've ever tasted. My fiance graduated from culinary arts school and he says that the butter needed to melted in a separate pan from the yolks and lemon juice. A double broiler is ideal so as not to scorch your yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Based on the other reviews, I cut back on the butter and added much more lemon juice. I just kept tasting it until it seemed right. Good start tho and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
this was okay, but pretty much tasted like butter sauce to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Saranac Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Too much butter. Not enough lemon. Knorr package hollandaise is a lot better and a lot less time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States