Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I have never made hallandaise and have only heard of how daunting it can be. But I followed the intstructions exaclty on this recipe and it turned out great. Only change was I added a little smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinskitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
It came out perfect. Great recipe. Tasted just like classic hollandaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Had eggs benedict on Christmas morning with this because I had leftover egg yolks after making merenges. Was just a little more lemony that I expected but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This works! I used salted butter and didn't add any salt. The most important part is the whisking. And the cold water trick is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di4367

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Really good - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Great Recipe! So easy too. I used salted butter, so there was no need to add any salt. I didn't have white pepper, so I omitted that too. The sauce turned out perfectly. Perfect consistency and flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I have had Hollandaise with lemon before but I prefer mine made with vinegar. I was taught by my father before whisks were available for home cooks. I stood at the stove with a flat saucepan over a simmering pot of water. I stirred the yolks with a fork till lemon yellow. Added the butter one drop (in the beginning) at a time till emulsified. It was wonderful. Now I put the eggs yolks (broken), salt, cayenne, vinegar in a jar and shake and shake and then add the warm butter. Then it's a question of how long you want to shake. Great on veggies, bread or even your finger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Damascus, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Very easy and very yummy! Pleasured my porterhouse steak with it and was absolutely fabulous! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Savage, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've never made hollandaise sauce before, and this came out great! I made it straight from the recipe, no alterations (except that I didn't have white pepper, so I used a bit of black)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is the worst recipe for hollandaise sauce that I've ever tasted. My fiance graduated from culinary arts school and he says that the butter needed to melted in a separate pan from the yolks and lemon juice. A double broiler is ideal so as not to scorch your yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States