Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I used black pepper since I didn't have white. It worked. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelslix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Very good and also very easy. I liked that I did not need the mess of a double boiler or blender, and I could be sure the yolks were adequately cooked. It thickened up easily and held together well. I used Smart Balance instead of butter because that's what I buy. Served it on steamed asparagus and the whole family loved it. I think I will reduce the lemon juice a little next time, just my preference. Thanks Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was great stuff. I don't think I've ever made a hollandaise from scratch before. I gather it's supposed to be a little tricky sometimes. I was in a bit of a hurry since I was incorporating this into another recipe on this site ("Asparagus and Mushroom Puff Pastry Pie"), and I might have rushed things a little, but I guess the recipe is forgiving anyway. I made the recipe exactly as written, except I hurried a bit on the whisking. Therefore, my results might have been a little runnier than they're supposed to be (I think hollandaise is supposed to be somewhat thick), but the taste was great, and when I shared the dish at a potluck, I got great compliments. This is worth making again, since I love the sauce and had never bothered making it until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I added garlic salt, as we were having this with asparagus. I also used the bottled lemon juice I had on hand and it worked perfectly. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was fairly easy to make and the taste was alright. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsjlandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenni
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Eggs Benedict is my favorite meal, and I don't even like "breakfast"! It's always been about the Hollandaise sauce...... and wow, this is a winner! I've tried the double boiler method with several recipes and undoubtedly wonderful sauce, but the uncertainty of whether it will break down or "curdle" a bit was always in the back of my mind. This recipe I truly believe is fool-proof! Absolutely easy and a wonderful flavor. Only change I made was added a bit more lemon juice. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
It was my first attempt at a hollandaise sauce. It was easy and pretty good. Due to other reviews I cut the lemon juice to 1 1/2 tsp instead of tbls and think I could cut out the half as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made this with key lime juice, and my husband has fallen in love all over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by warriorscheyenne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twobtwot9809
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was my first attempt at hollandaise sauce. The receipe was easy and tasted great. I used a hand mixer to beat the sauce over a water bath intead of killing my hand using a whisk. Sauce was a little bland as is so I took the advice of other posters and added additional lemon juice and cayenne pepper. My husband loved it and asked me to make it again. Thank you for the great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobtwot9809

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Too much butter!! Definitely did not need to add the additional melted butter. I plan on sticking to my Joy of Cooking standard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States