Hollandaise Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I liked it! I used a double boiler to melt all the butter for a 1/2 batch...2 egg yolks, 1/2 stick butter. Once butter was melted I tempered the yolks with a little of the melted butter and then slowly added the yolks, constantly wisking. It started to separate but I added a few drops of warm water and it smoothed out perfectly. To finish I added two drops Worchesterhire sauce and a pinch of ground Cayene pepper. Great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was the first hollandaise I ever made, and it came out SO tasty! I think a little less lemon would be better, but that's a personal taste issue. I put it over pan-seared tilapia fillets, and it was amazing. I definitely plan on using this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennieLynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Used this in the dish below, tasted great. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Asparagus-and-Mushroom-Puff-Pastry-Pie/Detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=mushroom&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and I like how easy it was, however, the sauce came out tasting disgustingly fishy (I had other people taste it to confirm that it wasn't just me). I tried all the fixes I could, diluting, adding corn starch, more acids and even a little sugar and nothing changed. I wanted to try this because I like that you don't have to clarify the butter, but next time I'll stick with my other recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This sauce is wonderful. I used lime instead of lemon & it tasted great. It's hard to get the sauce thick enough, takes a lot of whisking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I thought it was fantastic, I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Easy to make, but too mutch butter. I am going to cut it down to 3T in pan and 1/2 cup melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckygunnells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Living In: Cle Elum, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Added a dash of paprika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKEWALLACE1979

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I don't know if I've ever eaten Hollandaise sauce before, but I know I've tried to make a few different recipes but haven't liked any of them ... until now. Tasted delicious with my asparagus tonight and was easy enough to make. Thank you Jeff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
It seemed easy to start, and it was looking creamy and pretty when I added the cold butter, but the moment I added the first bit of melted butter it curdled the sauce. I don't think melted butter is the best option. I think adding cold butter is what should happen here. I added more of the butter hoping that would fix it. Instead it just got worse and worse. I never did add the last of the butter. Instead I looked up how to fix curdled hollandaise sauce and found this page. This worked to save it. http://www.examiner.com/article/how-to-fix-curdled-hollandaise Essentially it said in a bowl you put 1/4 cup white wine (I only had sake so I used that) and then you add the curdled sauce to it 1-2 TB at a time and whip it with the whisk. This saved my sauce. I tasted it and it tasted fine. Would have been great if I hadn't accidentally knocked it off onto the floor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparkling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blender Hollandaise Sauce

For perfect Hollandaise sauce, break out the blender!

Chef John's Hollandaise Sauce

Learn the simple tricks to perfect hollandaise sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States