Holland Cream (White Cream Filling) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I was really excited to see the reviews on this recipe but it is not the recipe I was hoping it would be. I was looking for a more cream type filling, instead it is more of an icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this tonight. It tastes really good but mine turned out gritty for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I used this filling in cream horn cookies for my niece's wedding reception and it worked PERFECTLY! I did add a little almond extract, because that's the flavor I was aiming for. The best part of this filling is that it held up and the cookies didn't need to be refrigerated... which means they didn't get soggy! LOVE THIS RECIPE! Thanks so much for sharing it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Well, first to say that I did not have shortening on hand, so I substituted butter. It tasted alright. The consistency was great, but even with adding more and more confectioners sugar, you could STILL taste the butter. Yuk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This is the second time I've made this filling, and it is great! The first time I followed it exactly...but I added some cinnamon, nutmeg and clove to make it spiced for some fall chocolate cupcakes. This time, I went to pull out my shortening, only to find that I was all out (oops!) So, I substituted softened butter, and it turned out great. Whew! I did a 1/2 recipe both times, and it easily filled 50 cupcakes...with a little extra left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SpecialKsGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Perfect! I quartered the recipe to fill a dozen maple crumb bars. The filling is light and fluffy and delicious. I used Spectrum Organic Non-hydrogenated Vegetable Shortening, which made it less greasy and less unhealthy than standard shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpecialKsGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This cream recipe is exactly what I've been looking for for many years! I did halve it. I used it for the filling in my pumpkin whoopie pies and it tasted just like the Amish one's in Shipshewana:)! I did do something different though. I didn't boil the sugar and water. I nuked it in the microwave for a minute until it was clear and then put it in the freezer for a couple of minutes to cool. You have to use CRISCO or it will taste really gross. Eating it alone, you will have a slight shortening taste. When eating it in the whoopie pie, you can't taste anything but pure bliss:D! My kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I have to say, the consistency was eh and although I could alter it with water, the taste of shortening was way too strong. I'll definitely sub butter if I try it again. Also, the amount made was monstrous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclecticpandora

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
been looking for a good filling. I changed it 1 cup shortening, 3 sticks butter. had to add more confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
I just did this recipe..I'm sure I did it wrong or something, but it still had a slight taste of the shortening...not sure why. The consistency came out great and the sweetness was there but the taste wasn't that great. Any thoughts from anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Cream

Top your favorite desserts with rich whipped cream.

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States