Holland Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
My first batch of these cookies did not turn out too well. They were one large, thin sloppy unit. I do not blame the recipe, I understand that when trying a new recipe many varibles can effect the outcome. I think I added too much baking soda. I did not have a 1/8tsp measuring device, so I guessed--obviously wrong. The cookies rose and spred out, did not brown and tasted like gooey butter. I decided to modify the rest of the batch. I added 1/2 cup more flour and mixed it in until the dough was smooth, slightly stiff, but creamy. I rolled less than a teaspoon full of the dough between my palms to form small balls, placed the balls about two inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet, pressed a wet fork into the cookies twice--once horizantally and once vertically, and baked the cookies for 11 minutes. They came out beautiful and tasted great. Each cookie was uniform in shape and golden brown on the edges. My second batch- I increased the flour and slightly decreased the sugar, used a very small pinch of baking soda, and baked again as described above. They will be a part of my families holiday feast. My ten year old son loves them, and he's quite the cookie critic. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
My family is from Holland and I've had butter cookies all my life. I just didn't care for the cookies at all. They were hard to get off the cookie tin and they were too buttery in my book. I also thought they were a little too flat. My son, who is 3, loves cookies, but would not eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I just finished baking these and they are awesome!! Rich buttery taste. They have the appearance of lace. Very thin but they do melt in your mouth. I rolled them in a ball and lightly flattened the first couple of batches but then I left them just in the ball stage and they still cooked and looked like the rest. THIS IS A KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
Delicious buttery flavor. Think my butter was too soft, causing them to spread too much...but still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
My daughter had to do a paper on Holland in her 2nd grade class. We found this recipe and made it for her class. They were so easy and soooo yummy! I do have a small tip: Add sprinkled sugar to the cookies BEFORE baking, they turn out really good!Thanks for this great tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This recipe received glowing reviews, but it just didn't do it for me. The cookies were very flat and lacked sufficient flavor, though they did melt in the mouth, as promised. Also, they weren't very nice to look at. I always bake and freeze cookies so that I have something to offer guests, but these weren't attractive enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Taste sooo good! The only down side is it was very difficult to mix them together... but when I tasted the finished product I realized it was worth my effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
I was completely unfamiliar with these cookies when I decided to make them. I picked them because they looked easy and basic. At first I thought I did something wrong because the cookies flattened out dramatically and became lacy looking. Once I tasted them I decided mistake or not they were a success. The only drawback to me was the amount of excess butter but I put the cookies between layers of papertowels and the problem was solved. This is a GREAT addition to my recipe collection. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newtown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Five and a half stars! These are melt in your mouth delicious, just like the kind in my grammar school. Everyone loved the richness and texture, what a great and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
These cookies were okay-not what I expected. We found them kinda bland and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wells, Maine, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States