Holland Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I read all the comments first, and added 1/2cup more flower, actually, just added flour until the dough was smooth, and on the thicker side since reports were the cookies spread too much. I'm not impressed. I think I will try adding vanilla, or go to a recipe with more ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I refuse to give someone a bad rating because I am no cook. I've had to take over as the family cook quite recently, and am just learning. I'm sure I did something wrong. Went back and checked the recipe again and again. What I had was a complete mess. There was so much butter that the cookies all melted into one huge cookie spread completely over the entire cookie sheet. Not to worry. After they had cooled I was able to cut them with a spatula, and lift them right up. They had so much butter in them that they made me sick to my stomach. I'm just not used to so much fat. Then, when I dropped one on my shirt, it stained it. Isn't 2 cups of butter, that whole pound package? A stick of butter is half a cup right? I don't know what I did wrong, but mine turned out awful. I don't think I'll even try this again, unless someone can let me know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This melt-in-your-mouth cookies are great any time of the year, any time of the day. Their especially yummy with a cup of coffee or tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beaver, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
When I tasted the raw dough I found it bland so I added a pinch of salt and about a tablespoon of vanilla. Also I found it very loose after mixing all the ingredients together so I popped it in the freezer for about 40 minutes before making quenelles and baking them off. However this is a great base recipe. Next I'm trying orange zest and maybe some liquor in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Quick, easy and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I sized down the recipe to 18 servings. Since other reviews warned of runny cookies, I added an extra 1/2 cup flour. Consequently, the dough became super crumbly, so I threw in about a teaspoon of milk and it came out great. I'm not a fan of butter-tasting things, so I added about 1/8 teaspoon vanilla and everyone loved them! They took a while to bake though (about 12-15 mins). Good recipe with easy ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These cookies really had no taste. Way too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
These cookies were sooo good and easy! I followed the recipe exactly. They remind me of those Danish cookies you get in a tin during Christmas, except softer and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Cookies have an awesome taste. I too, however had to add a half cup more flour for the cookies to bake properly. Best butter cookie recipe I've found!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States