Holland Boterkoek Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I'm from the Netherlands, and can confidently say that this is the legit version of the boterkoek from back home. If you save some of the beaten egg, and brush it on the top before baking, it will turn beautifully golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
So tasty and easy to whip up! ActuallyThis is exactly the same boterkoek recipe I inherited from my mom, EXCEPT to give it a nice top "coating", you are supposed to reserve a small amount of the beaten egg to lightly brush on top of the boterkoek before putting it in the oven. If you like, you can also add slivered almonds sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Wow!! This was GREAT! I have never had this kind of cake before but chose it because my husband and I love almond flavoring. I didn't change a thing. I only cooked it for the least amount of time suggested, 30 min., due to all the reviews saying it dries out and it was perfect. If you don't like almond flavoring then I would imagine it would taste just as good with whatever extract you like. It is just as it is described, a cross between a cookie and a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I really enjoyed how dense this dessert was...it was just a bit chewy, which my family and I loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Awesome recipe!! People rave about it! I glaze the top with milk and sprinkle sugar on before cooking...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was pretty good, I liked it a bit more when it was slightly warm as opposed to cooled/room temp. It was easy to make and I wouldn't mind making this again at some point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by jewlster1259
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Sooo good. A little sugar on top would be good for next time. I haven't had this in a long time and it came out exactly like I remembered it. I baked it for right about 35min and it browned nicely :) Thanks for the great recipe! My husband tried it today and liked it, too. It's just how he remembers it being. His grandparents are Dutch immigrants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewlster1259

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I fixed this for a family dinner and it got rave reviews!!! Then I brought the leftovers to work and the same thing happened. The only thing I changed was the removal of the baking powder. My mother never used that in her recipe and we are all from Holland. Thanks to Allison for giving me back a recipe I had lost. One more thing. I only baked it 25 minutes and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
LOVED this- thanks so much for the recipe! My husband's family is Dutch, and when he tasted this, he said it reminded him of his grandmother-- best compliment ever :) thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I give this 3.5 stars! Tastes very much like a sugar cookie. Good, easy, and you most likely have everything on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

How to Make Crepes

Make delicious stuffed crepes for breakfast, dinner or dessert.

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States