Holiday Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Because I've made these for over 40 years, I know that to try and form these into wreaths would be a lot of effort since these set up so fast. I just drop them into small, teaspoon size mounds. When my kids were young, they made the task of making these much easier--the extra set of hands to put the cinnamon candies on them were a real help! While I make these a bit differently, I write this review for those who are experiencing these stiffening up or hardening too fast. A little extra butter will take care of that. To 4 cups of corn flakes I use 1/3 c. butter and 32 marshmallows. For a brilliant green color, I use 1 tsp. of green food coloring, again for 4 cups of corn flakes. Finally, I add 1/2 tsp. each of vanilla and almond extracts for flavor. These have always been a family favorite and are a pretty and colorful addition to a Christmas cookie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
My kids loved it. They expanded on the Christmas idea by making Christmas trees from the mixture and sprinkling it with colored candy sprinkles, gold and silver candy balls etc. Really added color to the Christas cookie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
My aunt use to make these when I was little so I gave them a try. They came together nicely. I followed the recipe exactly and put the bowl in a larger bowl with a little hot water to keep the mixture soft. They are very pretty on a cookie tray as they have a bright green color. They do not freeze or last long as they get a little mushy (at least in my house) so I would make these just a few days before Christmas or the event you are taking them to. Thanks for this recipe from my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
I make apx 50 types of cookies for xmas-this one is really easy, really fast, really good tasting, and looks terrific on the platter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Very festive looking but I found it difficult to form into wreaths not only because the marshmallow starts to stiffen but also because the Corn Flakes make for a much less dense mixture which doesn't hold together as nicely. They taste ok, but in the future I'll just be sticking with Rice Krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ridaen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I used these for a baby shower for twins. I used pink and blue food coloring and shaped them into baby booties and pacifiers. You can use molds and press the mixture into the mold as well. They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridatreasure1983
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
this is a great recipe!!! i add a tsp of vanilla to hide some of the food coloring taste as there is just a hint of it for the discerning palate. it's easy to work with and really i have no problem with it holding together or any of some of the other concerns i've read about here. i've been making holiday treat trays for family and friends for longer than i care to say and this is always a winner for young and old and what an eye catcher!!! my picture is lousy as for color as it was taken with my cell phone at the last minute and will be replaced so u can get a better idea of how outstanding this really looks. i also make these the size of the tray and then fill the middle with a tall round container filled with goodies and wrap that all to go for each guest on our family and friends nite at our house!! each guest leaves with a tray big enough to gain 20#'s or so!! lol!!! for most of them it's the hilight of the evening and they are usually sniffing around them all night to see what they recieved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridatreasure1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great gobs of green glue! Okay, having made rice crispy treats, I should have known what I was in for. But forming it into circles and trying to get the red hots to stick cranked up the difficulty factor. The only thing that saved me was greasing my finger tips between spoonfuls. They are festive looking. Not a cookie for amateurs to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
We actually did not eat most of these that we made. They were cute but I think I left them out too long cuz they got really hard. I made them with my 3 kids, ages 4-9, and really the mixture is too hot for them to handle straight out the pan so I had to form the wreaths. They got to put the red hots on though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Better than rice crispy treats! My family ate two batches in one day!! A must make and not just for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOM3BOYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States