Holiday Wreaths Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I just made my first batch but changed it some. I made one wreath on a cookie sheet, used Total Whole Grain Flakes added 1/2 tsp Almond Extract and decorated the top with M & M red and green candies, miniature edible decorative red and white candy canes and sprinkled green and clear large grains of sugar. Next time I will not use the green food coloring since it stained my fingers and hands, will mix green sprinkles in the mixture and will mix 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond extract and decorate the top the same way. Actually this recipe is a good idea except for the green food coloring which myself and others probably wouldn't want stained hands and fingers after eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Great gobs of green glue! Okay, having made rice crispy treats, I should have known what I was in for. But forming it into circles and trying to get the red hots to stick cranked up the difficulty factor. The only thing that saved me was greasing my finger tips between spoonfuls. They are festive looking. Not a cookie for amateurs to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
yummy and so fun to make with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
These are great! The way to avoid the hardening is to remove the mixture from the heat as soon as the marshmallows are almost completely melted and not a moment longer. If you cook the mallows too long you are sure to have a beautiful, but very hard treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These were so easy and very holiday-y looking! I would use only 1/3 cup butter next time, they were pretty greasy (perhaps I sprayed too much pam on my cookie sheet to make them not stick). Great recipe though, thanks for sharing a great addition to my holiday baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atherton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
this is a great recipe!!! i add a tsp of vanilla to hide some of the food coloring taste as there is just a hint of it for the discerning palate. it's easy to work with and really i have no problem with it holding together or any of some of the other concerns i've read about here. i've been making holiday treat trays for family and friends for longer than i care to say and this is always a winner for young and old and what an eye catcher!!! my picture is lousy as for color as it was taken with my cell phone at the last minute and will be replaced so u can get a better idea of how outstanding this really looks. i also make these the size of the tray and then fill the middle with a tall round container filled with goodies and wrap that all to go for each guest on our family and friends nite at our house!! each guest leaves with a tray big enough to gain 20#'s or so!! lol!!! for most of them it's the hilight of the evening and they are usually sniffing around them all night to see what they recieved!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancey Malone Cassalia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Because I've made these for over 40 years, I know that to try and form these into wreaths would be a lot of effort since these set up so fast. I just drop them into small, teaspoon size mounds. When my kids were young, they made the task of making these much easier--the extra set of hands to put the cinnamon candies on them were a real help! While I make these a bit differently, I write this review for those who are experiencing these stiffening up or hardening too fast. A little extra butter will take care of that. To 4 cups of corn flakes I use 1/3 c. butter and 32 marshmallows. For a brilliant green color, I use 1 tsp. of green food coloring, again for 4 cups of corn flakes. Finally, I add 1/2 tsp. each of vanilla and almond extracts for flavor. These have always been a family favorite and are a pretty and colorful addition to a Christmas cookie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
All time favorite holiday cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Been making these since I was a kid also. They're really good, and fun for the kids...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestline, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These were a big hit at my house! My son is too young to help me make these, but he enjoyed eating them! Thanks for the fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Christmas Wreaths

These charming Christmas wreaths are festive and tasty.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States