Holiday Pumpkin Cake with Rum-Cream Cheese Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I feel bad to be rating a recipe so low but there are some pretty big problems with this one. First, please be aware that the recipe calls for self-rising flour, not all-purpose. I did not notice this until after mixing it all together and realizing there was no baking powder or baking soda in the recipe! I managed to mix in a tsp. of baking powder at the end before baking but ideally it should be added with the dry ingredients. I believe 3 cups of pumpkin puree is too much. All I had on hand was a 15 oz. can and it was plenty. Also, there is no baking time indicated! It just says to bake it till done. I baked mine till a toothpick came out clean (approx. 55-60 min.) but the texture towards the middle of the cake was a little too dense and almost undercooked so I think it could have used a bit more time in the oven or maybe that is just the texture of this cake. I really wanted to like it for a Fall recipe but it needs some fine tuning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Awesome cake, and actually Valerie there is a cookoing time- 1 hr. and all cooks should read the recipe before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Wonderful, fabulous, superb, and every other splendiferous adjective you can come up with! I used cooked, mashed sweet potatoes in place of the pumpkin because they were $.25 a pound today. Laced the cake with 2 Tb of rum and added 2 tsp ginger. Note about self rising flour: measure 2 cups all purpose flour, and remove 1 tablespoon (either discard that Tb or return it back to the flour bag.) To the remaining scant 2 cups of flour, add 1 tablespoon baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt. Voila! Your own self rising flour. Just to set the record straight it is true that there is no baking time specified in the actual directions (which is the logical place where most people look.) It took 70 minutes in my recently calibrated oven to get a clean toothpick with only a few, tiny crumbs clinging. Made the glaze with 1 Tb Tortuga Gold rum and replaced the milk with orange juice, adding a half tsp freshly grated orange zest. The orange imparted subtle counterpoint to the spices and gave a fresh taste. This cake bakes up nice and high for a stunning presentation. It's an impressive cake for important events, like big holiday parties or family gatherings. Your baking skills will be impossible to deny if you make this one. It's a show-stopper for sure, and as super moist and delectable as it was beautiful to look at. Thank you for an outstanding holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My family loved this cake. I like recipes specifically for my Bundt cake pan because a little dusting of powdered sugar dusting will do when you want to cut back on calories or just lighten it up. The glaze is delicious if you want to go all the way. This is now a permanent part of my holiday recipe collection because it is so easy to take to the bake sale or holiday dinner. When I take this cake out I make sure to substitute orange extract, dried or fresh orange peel, OR vanilla extract for the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This review is for the glaze only. No snub to the cake recipe intended at all, it's just that I had a cake mix I wanted to use. If the cake is as good as the glaze I will be sure and remember to try that too. This glaze is perfect and awesome good! The measurements are right on, the consistency is perfect and the rum extract is a creative and brilliant addition for a pumpkin cake. In addition to being delicious it's a beautiful glaze too, lusciously thick and glossy. I'll definitely keep this glaze in mind for other cakes in the future too, varying flavors as the cake would dictate. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made the Rum - Cream Cheese Glaze to pour over a spice cake. It was wonderful and very easy to make. Thank you! I will try it with the pumpkin cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Just wanted to say the glaze was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I actually made a different cake--pumpkin cake III which was very good but I did make this rum icing and it was fantastic! Definitely will be using the icing in the future and I'll try this recipe too--it's very similar to the other except for the self-rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This review is for the glaze...yummy! The perfect topping for a pumpkin cake. I made this in a glass bowl, sitting on top of a small pot of simmering water. Stirred with a hand blender for a smooth consistency. The only thing I would change is two tablespoons of milk, this is a bit thick. THANK YOU for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
The cake was beautiful, but just didn't taste right. The texture was appealing at all. I agree with everyone and say less pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States