Holiday Pumpkin Cake with Rum-Cream Cheese Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I didn't think that this recipe turned out very well, and I followed all the directions. I will keep looking for my go to pumpkin cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess & Ral

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
The Consistency was not like a cake. My family was not thrilled with the taste and we will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I was disappointed with this cake - it did not turn out as I'd expected. The consistency of the cake was more like a dense pumpkin pie, though I tested it after an hour and 10 minutes with a toothpick and the toothpick came out clean. The cake looked beautiful in the over - fluffy and slightly cracked on top, but when I took it out of the oven to cool it the cake deflated. I took it to my parents/in-laws anyway. The family seemed to enjoy the flavor, even without the glaze (ran out of time and had to dust with powdered sugar instead). Maybe next time I'll cut back on the pumpkin and make sure I use self-rising flour (I used all purpose and added baking soda, etc. as indicated on the package when substituting for self-rising flour).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Just wanted to say the glaze was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Didn't make the cake, so can't comment, but I did put the glaze on an apple bundt cake and it was delish! I'll try this glaze again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I am a huge fan of anything pumpkin during the holidays, and this cake really hit the spot. The flavor and texture of the cake is perfect and are complimented well by the cream cheese glaze. This is one of the best pumpkin recipes i've come across and i found the outcome thoroughly enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Wonderful, fabulous, superb, and every other splendiferous adjective you can come up with! I used cooked, mashed sweet potatoes in place of the pumpkin because they were $.25 a pound today. Laced the cake with 2 Tb of rum and added 2 tsp ginger. Note about self rising flour: measure 2 cups all purpose flour, and remove 1 tablespoon (either discard that Tb or return it back to the flour bag.) To the remaining scant 2 cups of flour, add 1 tablespoon baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt. Voila! Your own self rising flour. Just to set the record straight it is true that there is no baking time specified in the actual directions (which is the logical place where most people look.) It took 70 minutes in my recently calibrated oven to get a clean toothpick with only a few, tiny crumbs clinging. Made the glaze with 1 Tb Tortuga Gold rum and replaced the milk with orange juice, adding a half tsp freshly grated orange zest. The orange imparted subtle counterpoint to the spices and gave a fresh taste. This cake bakes up nice and high for a stunning presentation. It's an impressive cake for important events, like big holiday parties or family gatherings. Your baking skills will be impossible to deny if you make this one. It's a show-stopper for sure, and as super moist and delectable as it was beautiful to look at. Thank you for an outstanding holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My wife loved it.....very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I'm only rating the glaze here - it's EXCELLENT and I will be using it many times in the future, for sure. The cake recipe sounds yummy too, and I will try it, but didn't have the time yesterday. I used the 2-ingredient Pumpkin Cake recipe, but added some eggs & a splash of oil - really good & simple! This glaze was the perfect finishing though - really spiffed up a simple cake!! THANK YOU for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Awesome cake, and actually Valerie there is a cookoing time- 1 hr. and all cooks should read the recipe before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States