Holiday Pumpkin Cake with Rum-Cream Cheese Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I added 3 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, and additional 1/2 cup of flour and sifted all together with pumpkin pie spice because all I had on-hand was all-purpose flour--baked for 1 hour 15 minutes--came out in bundt pan moist and delicious! Used 1 tblsp rum instead of imitation and glaze was rich and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noreen Heinekamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I use this glaze on top the "Too Much Chocolate Cake" and enjoy a little (or big) piece of heaven!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I followed the recipe to the T, as I do will all the recipes that I get from All Recipes. This did not rise at all. I do not know what happened but it was very embarrasing at Thanksgiving Dinner at a friends house. I hope that your will turn out better if you do try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and did not care for it. It was a cake version of pumpkin pie--but it was very dense and chewy. The glaze was good--that was the only thing I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryanne Affleck Robison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I also just used the glaze for a molasses cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Home Town: North Wales, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This rating is ONLY for the frosting which I used on a banana cake. I thought the frosting was decent. It actually lost that cream cheese twang due to the sugar ratio, so I had to add bottled lemon juice a little at a time til it tasted right. This frosting did not come out white for me like in this picture because my rum extract is brown. I don't even know if they make that in clear, but I guess they must else this photo wouldn't show white glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I baked mine till a toothpick came out clean (60 min.) This cake wa way too dense. I followed the recipe to a T. Very disappointing. I will definitely keep the glaze recipe, it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Tried this recipe tonight. Just want to point out, it says in the notes for this recipe that it's an alternative to pumpkin pie. With that being said, It is very much like a pumpkin pie in it's texture when it's done cooking. I don't have a bundt pan and I was making this to bring over to my niece that just had twins. I also wanted some for the house. I followed the directions but I didn't have applesauce so I used sour cream instead. Also, I used only 1 cup of white sugar because I didn't want it so sweet. I poured the batter into a 8" round pan and an 8 x 10 glass pan. The round pan was done in about 35 mins and the 8x10 cooked around 45. I didn't have cream cheese and I didn't have rum extract so what I did use was one large box of cheese cake pudding with a teaspoon of orange extract. Made the pudding according to pie filling directions with the extract. Then I took half of a large container of Cool Whip and folded it into the pudding after it set in the refrigerator for an hour. It was delicious. I would have given this 5 stars, but I took off a star because the author is calling it a cake and it's not very cake-like, it's more of a pie filling consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Do not try to take out of the pan too early. Let it cool! I was rushing and tried to get it out and it all fell apart. It tasted great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong but the cake was uncooked after 1 and 1/2 hr. in the oven. I think I would cut back on the pumpkin. Taste was good but way too gooey. Perhaps the original receipe user made a typo in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States