Holiday Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is a beautiful moist pumpkin bread. I have made it several times and continue to get rave reviews! Don't wait for the holidays to bake and give to your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PGivens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This pumpkin bread was my first ever attempt at making bread at all, it was really good!! My 9 year old was helping me so I got a little distracted and forgot to put in the vegetable oil, but it still wasn't that bad, the only things I did different was 2 c white sugar and 1 c brown sugar, and I didn't have ground cloves so I added 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. I opted out of the walnuts and raisins and used chocolate chips instead, it was delicious!! I also used 8 mini loaf pans and baked for about 40 minutes! (just a tip, this is really good if you take a slice, spread a little butter microwave for about 10 seconds, add a few slices of banana on top and drizzle some chocolate on top) YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe is fabulous!! I deleted the raisins and added mini chocolate chips instead. My toddlers thought it was a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This recipe fell flat. It did not grow. I really hate wasting ingredients like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I have been using almost this exact recipe since the late 1970's. I LOVE it. My nephews call it pumpkin bread cake. Family members ask for it during the holidays. I have made many variations. I prefer chopped pecans and use 1 TBSP of cinnamon, and omit the raisins. For healthier pumpkin bread, I reduce the sugar to 1 cup and use 1 cup of the baking variety of Splenda. I use Peanut, Walnut, or Grape Seed oil for Omega 3's, reduce oil to 1/4 cup and add 3/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce. I also replace about 1/2 cup of flour with 1/4 cup each of ground flax seed meal and wheat germ. You can sugar the oiled pans for a nice texture on the outside of the bread. For adult tastes, I make Rum Raisin Pumpkin Bread out of this recipe. Using my adjusted recipe from above, with the addition of the raisins and some rum. Put the raisins in a bowl and cover with rum. Put the raisins and rum in the microwave for a few minutes or so to plump the raisins until they are very soft. Let them cool for awhile and grind them in a blender or food processor before adding to the bowl with the other wet ingredients. For a change, try adding a cup of flaked coconut or white baking chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
wow this pumpkin bread fantastic! My whole family loved is it! so simple too, thanks so much for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I love this recipe! I make it every year around the holidays. The only change I made was to leave out the rasins and occasionally I toss in some chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Haysville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
this is really good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great! I took the others suggestion and only used 2 1/2 cups sugar. Couldnt even tell that was a change. I also was out of nutmeg and it was perfect, not missed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very moist! Made 3 loaves! Family really liked it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States