Holiday Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is the same recipe I have been making for about 8 years, after one bite of my "Aunt Eva's Pumpkin Bread". This recipe is very moist, flavorful and comes out every single time. I would suggest the following minor alterations - increase water to 1 C and decrease oil to 2/3 C. Pour the 1 C of (boiling) water over the raisins to plump them up, then use the raisin water for more flavor. I have been making it this way for 8 years and everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
WOW! This is the first pumpkin bread recipe that has won my whole family's approval! My kids took it to school EVERY DAY for their snack and their teachers sent them home asking for the recipe! My husband took a loaf to work, and came home with 12 people asking for the recipe as well! This a very generous recipe, I made two huge loaves that were VERY moist and spicy. The only alteration I made was adding a whole 30 ounce can of pumpkin puree instead of the 15 oz can it called for. I wanted to make sure it had a lot of pumpkin flavor, and I wasn't disappointed in the least. This will be the recipe I choose to make everytime we have a craving for pumpkin bread! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OregonGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I followed the ww-friendly recipe offered by another user and it was DELICIOUS! I ended up making this recipe twice because I'd given too much of it away the first time! As an added benefit, it made the house smell wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This bread is very easy to make and when I made it I added a bannana and it was sooooo good!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Gigp.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This such a moist quick bread. So easy to make. I love it because I always have the ingredients on hand. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great pumpkin recipe....I baked it in muffin tins. I froze most of them, so I'll always have some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I just made this bread tonight, it is the best pumpkin bread i have ever had, very yummy, very moist, i skiped the walnuts, but i plan on making mini loaves for my kids teachers, the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CUTENES18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I have been making this recipe, without nuts or raisins, since the beginning of time, OK since 1970 (when I was 9). My instructions were to combine all dry ingredients, make a well in the center, add all the wet ingredients, then mix. Also, the instructions were clear about cooling, wrapping in plastic and refrigerating the loaves overnight for optimum moistness. I have also tinkered with this endlessly to make it more Weight Watchers friendly (low fat, high fiber). For the low fat version, change the 3.5 c flour to 2 c white, 1.5 c whole wheat flour. Reduce sugar to 2 cups. Reduce oil to 1/4 cup. Add 3/4 c unsweetened applesauce. Increase water to 3/4 cup. No nuts or raisins. works every time. Makes a zillion muffins at 2 points each. Or bread, makes 2, 9x5 loaves. But who can eat just ONE slice?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
this was the best pumpkin bread recipe i've ever tried.The ingredients were simple and easy to follow.Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is my favorite Bread.It taste a very good! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States