Holiday Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Here is an alternate for those of you who like your pumpkin bread EXTRA pumpkin-y. I added some extra pumpkin, using a whole 29 oz can of pumpkin, cut down the water to 1/3 cup and added 1 cup of sweetened flaked coconut to the basic recipe plus used walnuts AND raisins (I like lots of stuff in my quick breads). This makes 8 small loaves of bread. This loaf is great for gift giving to eat for breakfast with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffany Reed-Shoemaker
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was a great recipe. I gave it 4 stars because of the sugar amount!! Holly cow!! I used 1 cup of sugar and added the zest of 1 orange, and 2/3 C. of orange juice instead of water. The bread tasted amazing!! I'll bet it would be good with cranberries, blueberries, or even some grated carrot...yummy!! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Reed-Shoemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I made this bread for Christmas presents this year and received rave reviews! My only complaint is the bake time. My bread turned out a bit on the dark side, so I think I would decrease it by ten minutes. Other than that, it was beautiful and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was very good. A keeper. I cut back the sugar by 1/2 cup and left out the raisins. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was tasty, but even though I followed the directions, it was still undercooked. I had to bake it an extra 20 minutes at least just to make sure it was cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stimpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sierra City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe is fabulous!! The only thing I changed was the sugar...I added 1.5 cups brown sugar and 1.5 cups white sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2AliJakeOwen
Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was delicious. Very moist and spicy. Best recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I was never much of a pumpkin pie fan so I thought I would try something different. This was super easy! The bread turned out so good! I am so happy with the results. I will be making this for Thanksgiving from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
We love this recipe! After perusing many of the reviews, I made some modifications to increase the recipe's "healthy factor." Here is my ingredient list: 2c white flour, 2c whole wheat flour, 2c sugar, 2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp allspice, 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/4c canola oil, 3/4c unsweetened applesauce, 3/4c water, 4 eggs, 15 oz can pumpkin puree. Combine the dry ingredients, blend in the wet ingredients, then bake. Yummy and I feel good about giving it to my toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Wow! totally wonderful and delish! I added 2 Tbsp of honey to the recipe and reduced the suger by 1/4 cup. I used 2 9x5 loaf pans and baked for 1 hr 20 mins, probably could have taken it out 5 min earlier. Nice and crispy around the edges but not burnt. Try it, you'll love it, packed full of flavor. Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States