Holiday Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I have been making this recipe, without nuts or raisins, since the beginning of time, OK since 1970 (when I was 9). My instructions were to combine all dry ingredients, make a well in the center, add all the wet ingredients, then mix. Also, the instructions were clear about cooling, wrapping in plastic and refrigerating the loaves overnight for optimum moistness. I have also tinkered with this endlessly to make it more Weight Watchers friendly (low fat, high fiber). For the low fat version, change the 3.5 c flour to 2 c white, 1.5 c whole wheat flour. Reduce sugar to 2 cups. Reduce oil to 1/4 cup. Add 3/4 c unsweetened applesauce. Increase water to 3/4 cup. No nuts or raisins. works every time. Makes a zillion muffins at 2 points each. Or bread, makes 2, 9x5 loaves. But who can eat just ONE slice?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This is the same recipe I have been making for about 8 years, after one bite of my "Aunt Eva's Pumpkin Bread". This recipe is very moist, flavorful and comes out every single time. I would suggest the following minor alterations - increase water to 1 C and decrease oil to 2/3 C. Pour the 1 C of (boiling) water over the raisins to plump them up, then use the raisin water for more flavor. I have been making it this way for 8 years and everybody loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jalexandropoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This is the best pumpkin bread! I have made it dozens of times and it's always a hit. I have even made it as a cake: double the recipe, take two bundt cake pans and prepare as directed, bake as directed, allow to cool, cut off the tops of each to make them flat so they will fit together when place with cut sides place together, it should resemble a pumpkin, ice with cream cheese icing (colored orange). So cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
We love this recipe! After perusing many of the reviews, I made some modifications to increase the recipe's "healthy factor." Here is my ingredient list: 2c white flour, 2c whole wheat flour, 2c sugar, 2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp allspice, 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/4c canola oil, 3/4c unsweetened applesauce, 3/4c water, 4 eggs, 15 oz can pumpkin puree. Combine the dry ingredients, blend in the wet ingredients, then bake. Yummy and I feel good about giving it to my toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made three 5x3 loaves and one 9x5. I decreased the sugar to 2 cups, put the juice of one orange in a measuring cup, and filled it to the 3/4 cup mark with water, added the zest of the orange, used 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened homemade applesauce, and used 2 cups of unbleached flour and 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour. It was so yummy! Using the orange juice and zest gave it a really good flavor. My whole family loved it! I didn't put nuts or raisins in it because I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
I enjoyed this recipe and had lots of compliments on it. I made some with and without pecans. It makes a lot - I gave some away. I also left the raisins out only because my family doesn't like raisins. It was very enjoyable though. Very moist and delicious. I recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Nice soft and moist recipe. Very easy to make, even for a cooking novice like me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My Grandmother always made pumpkin bread around the holidays and this recipe reminds me of hers. It was very moist. I cut the recipe in half, added 2 teaspoons of vanilla and baked in a 9x5 inch glass baking dish. It was done in 1 hour and 5 minutes. The smell was wonderful and filled the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I use whole wheat pastry flour and bake as muffins for my son's school snack. They come out wonderful every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
Definately a great recipe although I used pecans instead of walnuts, and I left the raisins out. The bread came out very moist and smelled wonderful while baking. However, this bread was just a tad bit too sweet for my liking; next time I will reduce the sugar to maybe 2 3/4 cups instead of 3 cups. Excellent fresh from the oven spread with butter or cream cheese!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States