Holiday Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
i tried several recipes on this site -- this is the best. i soaked raisins in water while preparing ingredients --- best flavor, moist, you get 3 loaves, MY FAMILY LOVES THIS =
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This bread was good, but it was a little too "spicey" for my southern tastebuds. I got my Grandmother's recipe out and saw that her's was similar but did not use ground cloves and only used 1/2 a tsp. of the nutmeg and allspice instead of the 1 tsp this recipe calls for. Her's also added 1 tsp of vanilla. I think that made the bread! Also, this recipe doesn't give good directions for adding the wet and dry ingredients together. If you just "add" them, the batter is lumpy. Mix the dry together in one bowl, the wet in another and slowly add the wet to the dry as you stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Loved it! I made my own pumpkin puree and prepared the pans with Baking Pam spray, but other than that I kept everything else the same. Everyone loved it and said it wasn't overwhelmingly "pumpkinish" (as these holiday breads can sometimes be).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Loved this pumpking bread! I'm making another batch right now. Ymmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This is so good I usually make it several times over the holidays, and not usually the same way twice. You can substitute dried cranberries for the raisins, pecans for the walnuts, it all works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was WONDERFUL! Following the advice of the first review, I made this weight watchers friendly. Left out nuts and raisins, added chocolate chips (still only 4 points each muffin--2 each without chocolate), and made into muffins. KIDS loved them, FRIENDS loved them! Will make again, without chocolate chips and with a maple glaze...YUM. This is a keeper for sure! Love it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
i love this website and everyones suggestions. they work out really well. and it good to know what substitutions work. they also make things healthier that way. thx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This is the best pumpkin bread I've ever made. I used 1/2 cup OJ, 1/2 cup water, and 2/3 cup of oil. I accidentally doubled the oil and had to double the recipe but the 6 loaves came out perfectly. I baked 3 with raisins and 3 without. The raisin loaves are definitely better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastian, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Excellent!! Light, flavorful, awesome. I, too, cut the sugar down to 2 cups, and substituted 1/2 c. applesauce for the oil. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamagillett
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Perfect Pumpkin Bread! I followed the recipe exactly and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamagillett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States