Holiday Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I was never much of a pumpkin pie fan so I thought I would try something different. This was super easy! The bread turned out so good! I am so happy with the results. I will be making this for Thanksgiving from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
We love this recipe! After perusing many of the reviews, I made some modifications to increase the recipe's "healthy factor." Here is my ingredient list: 2c white flour, 2c whole wheat flour, 2c sugar, 2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp allspice, 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/4c canola oil, 3/4c unsweetened applesauce, 3/4c water, 4 eggs, 15 oz can pumpkin puree. Combine the dry ingredients, blend in the wet ingredients, then bake. Yummy and I feel good about giving it to my toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Wow! totally wonderful and delish! I added 2 Tbsp of honey to the recipe and reduced the suger by 1/4 cup. I used 2 9x5 loaf pans and baked for 1 hr 20 mins, probably could have taken it out 5 min earlier. Nice and crispy around the edges but not burnt. Try it, you'll love it, packed full of flavor. Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made three 5x3 loaves and one 9x5. I decreased the sugar to 2 cups, put the juice of one orange in a measuring cup, and filled it to the 3/4 cup mark with water, added the zest of the orange, used 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened homemade applesauce, and used 2 cups of unbleached flour and 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour. It was so yummy! Using the orange juice and zest gave it a really good flavor. My whole family loved it! I didn't put nuts or raisins in it because I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was pretty good. I followed a couple of suggestions the first time and didn't care for the results. I used pumpkin pie filling and used more than the recipe called for. I did add a little more spice although not as much as the recipe called for. The spices were too strong and the bread was very heavy & dense. I decided to give it another try and following the recipe exactly turned out much better for my tastes. Good flavor & texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trout Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I substituted applesauce for the oil. Bread was incredibly moist and fragrant. Will definitely make again. Great as mini-loaves for friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This was OK, it's a basic pumpkin bread recipe. I havled the recipe and got 2 8x4 loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
The only thing different I did was I use a large can (29oz) can of pumpkin for more of a pumpkin flavor with the rasins and nuts..my co-workers love it! This is a great receipe. I'd love to try it using applesauce in place of something! (Ps.>I did not change the amount of the other ingredients)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liznatl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I made this recipe for my coworkers and I was asked for the recipe by multiple people. One girl even said it was better than the one she's been making all these years! Thanks for sharing. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is a really easy, delicious recipe! I would have liked for it to be a little more moist, but other than that it was great! I don't like raisens, but love nuts... so I put two packs of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States