Holiday Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I just made this and the finished product tastes great but I had a few problems getting it to work. I decided to use both dark and white chocolate and melted them in a double boiler. The dark layer went fine I was able to smooth it out and put it in the freezer. I let that sit for 15 mins while I melted the white chocolate...when I started adding the white chocolate layer I tried to move fast but the dark chocolate still melted and made the white chocolate look like a brown mess...and the white chocolate set so quickly I didn't even have time to spread it all around let alone press the peppermint candies into it. I melted a little more white chocolate to fill up the holes but I still didn't have candies on top. So in a desperate attempt to make this work I put the whole pan in a cold oven and preheated it to 300F - I checked on it every 30 seconds or so to see if it was melting..before my oven even got preheated it was melted enough that I could press the candies in. End result was really good - very tasty, the layers didn't want to separate the candies didn't fall off. I'm sure it would be easier just doing one layer of chocolate but it tastes way better with two. Not sure what to do different next time to avoid the problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parkes, New South Wales, Australia
Living In: Warrens, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This stuff is so good!!! My husband who doesn't care too much for peppermints even likes this and asked me to make it again this year. The only thing about this recipe I don't like is it takes forever to break down the candies. Next year maybe I'll try candy canes and see if they are any easier to pound out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Just made this today & it is VERY good. When melting the chocolate, I cooked it in 15 second intervals all the way through at 1/2 power. The chocolate melted beautifully and was very smooth. The only thing I'd do differently is double the recipe to make more if you're going to be giving it out as gifts or bringing to a gathering since it didn't make very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Fun! My daughter and I followed the advice of others to do a two-layer bark. We put semi-sweet chocolate on the bottom and then used green mint chips for the top layer. She had fun destroying five candy canes with a hammer. :) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The flavor was really nice, however, after attempting the semi-sweet chocolate bottom layer, I am wondering if there is some trick to getting the white chocolate layer to stick? My layers separated after I cut and stored the pieces. What did I do wrong??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aRbie5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Very easy....and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Easy easy easy!!! I used almond bark instead of morsels. I microwaved the entire package on high for about 3 minutes, stirring every 20-30 seconds then added the peppermint pieces. I spread it on my big baking sheet and then refrigerated it. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I followed the advice of several other comments, and added a tsp of oil, microwaving at 60% 1 minute & then 20 secs at a time. I also added a layer of milk chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This is most certainly a hit amongst all for the holidays! A hint on using Nestle ... avoid a hint of water during the melting process ... this is what I have found to cause it to harden quickly! I melt the chocolate in the microwave in 30 second increments stirring in between until melted ... so be careful to ensure the spoon is dry when stirring! I have struggled to keep the chocolate layer stuck to the white chocolate layer, so I am going to try a few suggestions others have made ... candy making tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Super easy, super yummy,. Microwave melting of chocolate is always risky, the extra few minutes using double boiler method is well worth it! Improvise one from 2 pans if you don't have a traditional double boiler. Tip: soft candy canes are to die for on their own....but are much more tender than using the starlite mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States