Holiday ONLY Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is similar to how I make mine. Just a hint to those of you that complained of gooey, etc. Heat the cream/milk and butter before mixing it. Never use cold milk and butter. I just heat it 30-60 seconds in the microwave when I'm ready for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I had a 10 pound bag of white potatoes, so I used them instead. Peeled all but 5 in the bag and quartered them and cooked them on low until they were falling apart. Drained, mashed and added salt & pepper, 2 sticks real butter, 4 oz cream cheese and heavy cream to get the consistency I wanted. After mashing and beating with hand mixer, I put in my crock pot dotted with some more butter on low for 1-1/2 to 2 hours until the rest of the meal was ready. They were the best mashed potatoes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
I thought these were great. I left the potatoes a little lumpy because I like them that way and added the milk (I didn't have or need the cream) until they were just right. Next time I will add a little garlic while the potatoes are cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
These are awesome. I make these all the time for my husband who loves them. I do add some garlic powder or roasted garlic to mix it up a bit. Thanks for posting. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Since being vegan, I tried this recipe with soy milk creamer, tasted like you used real half and half. Plus it cuts down the fat drastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Holidays Only? Just substitute fat free dairy product for heavy cream and you can have them every day. I used 3/4 cup and 1t garlic powder. My family thought they were rich and creamy and went back for seconds. Thanks Nancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2002
I'm sorry, but I didn't like these. Maybe I should have mashed them by hand instead of using an electric mixer. The texture was like adding elmer's glue! Might try again using half & half instead of heavy cream and more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
o.k. -- was afraid the use the entire amount of cream as I thought it would make the potatoes too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMC90

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
These are to DIE FOR!!!!! The very best mashed potatoes I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltair4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Nope, you do not have to peel a red potatoe:) The skin is fleshy and add some health to that cream. I LOVE HEAVY CREAM. AND REAL BUTTER!!! The Russets I do peel. Find them even better than the overpriced Yukons. Irish girl here, and I do not like to do the dishes, pair of glove mits and pour off the water, return the spuds to the pan on the low burner, hmmm, excess moisture evaporates. Add my butter and the heavy cream to the potatoes in the same pan and let it bubble just a bit. Off of the burner and mash the old fashioned way. Aaaaah, these can not be beat by any chef!!!!! AND sometimes I even beef it up by adding White Cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States