Holiday Morning French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I was surprised to see some 3 star ratings on this - I think it tastes great, and it smells wonderful, too. I have made it for my parents and in-laws, and they've all loved it. I used a loaf of bakery Italian bread, which I cubed to allow the bread to soak up the egg more easily and to make it easier to serve when finished. I let the cubed bread dry out a bit before mixing in the egg since that seems that very fresh bread gets doughy after it sits in the egg overnight. Granny Smith apples work well for me. For more tang, I suggest dried cherries instead of dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I make this french toast every Christmas morning and everyone loves it and now looks forward to it. I always make it the night before. This past Christmas I used orange flavored Craisins and everyone thought that it added a nice flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
i made a half recipe the night before using thick cut challah bread, granny smith apples & raisins. the soaked bread puffed up while baking & the dish came out deliciously moist. invert the french toast as recommended for eye appeal. great served with a little warm maple syrup. thanks mc cormick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
My gang loved this recipe! I skipped the raisins and the cranberries and just used whatever apples I had sitting around. I had concerns that the bottom would be so sticky that I wouldn't be able to get the french toast out, but surprisingly, after I loosened the edges it flipped over perfectly and looked very appealing. Once out of the casserole, I topped with some maple syrup and broiled for just a minute or two to carmalize the top. I then sprinkled with a bit of powdered sugar. How nice to wake up and just have to pop something in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
My family liked this a lot. The middle of the bread remained soft, so don't expect a totally toasted through toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This was quick, easy and wonderful to wake up to on a Sunday morning! I scaled the recipe in half and cooked in a 8" or 9" square pan. I also covered with foil overnight and laid some soda cans on top so that the french bread would soak up all the milk mixture. No need for syrup here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I halved this recipe and made it in an 8x8 dish, and it was fantastic. I took another reviewer's suggestion and cubed the bread instead of slicing it, but otherwise, that's the only change I made. My mom was leary of eating it b/c she thought it would taste like bread pudding (which she hates), but she loved it and even asked for the recipe. I inverted the whole thing on a platter as suggested, and it was beautiful. I will definitely keep making this. I also liked that, unlike similar recipes, this one can be made with only four hours refrigeration instead of overnight. This works well for me because sometimes we eat breakfast for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Made this for Christmas morning and once since then with modifications that have turned out beautifully. Texas Toast works wonderfully for this recipe - 6 slices (which look pretty halved on the diagonal) fit perfectly into the 9x13 pan. I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup and increased the cranberries to 3/4 cup. As recommended by another reviewers, I let the dish sit overnight with some soda cans on top to help the bread soak up the egg. I found that it helps to spray the aluminum foil cover with cooking spray before baking, else the bread puffs up and sticks to the foil. I also baked for much longer than called for -- 1 hour covered and ten minutes uncovered. We will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
SUPER!!! My family loves it and it is so easy to make! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Imho, more a bread pudding than a French toast but a great brunch recipe anyway. We really enjoyed the warm mix of flavours! Make sure to bake covered (as suggested by the recipe), otherwise the bread will be too dry on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States