Holiday Morning French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Made this for Christmas morning and once since then with modifications that have turned out beautifully. Texas Toast works wonderfully for this recipe - 6 slices (which look pretty halved on the diagonal) fit perfectly into the 9x13 pan. I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup and increased the cranberries to 3/4 cup. As recommended by another reviewers, I let the dish sit overnight with some soda cans on top to help the bread soak up the egg. I found that it helps to spray the aluminum foil cover with cooking spray before baking, else the bread puffs up and sticks to the foil. I also baked for much longer than called for -- 1 hour covered and ten minutes uncovered. We will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This was quick, easy and wonderful to wake up to on a Sunday morning! I scaled the recipe in half and cooked in a 8" or 9" square pan. I also covered with foil overnight and laid some soda cans on top so that the french bread would soak up all the milk mixture. No need for syrup here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was pretty good. I don't think that I would make it again because the presentation was not so good. I flipped it over but it still looked ugly. If you are trying to impress...try the Creme Brulee French Toast on this site. That one is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I was surprised to see some 3 star ratings on this - I think it tastes great, and it smells wonderful, too. I have made it for my parents and in-laws, and they've all loved it. I used a loaf of bakery Italian bread, which I cubed to allow the bread to soak up the egg more easily and to make it easier to serve when finished. I let the cubed bread dry out a bit before mixing in the egg since that seems that very fresh bread gets doughy after it sits in the egg overnight. Granny Smith apples work well for me. For more tang, I suggest dried cherries instead of dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I make this french toast every Christmas morning and everyone loves it and now looks forward to it. I always make it the night before. This past Christmas I used orange flavored Craisins and everyone thought that it added a nice flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This recipe was satisfactory. Some of the bread was a little dry. If I make it again I will use more liqiud and omit the rasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This recipe didn't come out as I had hoped. The apples were mush and the flavor cooked out. I did use whole grain bread however, I will try again with French bread and cut the apples bigger next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
GREAT brunch recipe. Very easy and is made ahead of time. I've made it several times and everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. The only thing I have done to change the recipe is leave out the raisins and/or currants. They are not missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
I halved this recipe and made it in an 8x8 dish, and it was fantastic. I took another reviewer's suggestion and cubed the bread instead of slicing it, but otherwise, that's the only change I made. My mom was leary of eating it b/c she thought it would taste like bread pudding (which she hates), but she loved it and even asked for the recipe. I inverted the whole thing on a platter as suggested, and it was beautiful. I will definitely keep making this. I also liked that, unlike similar recipes, this one can be made with only four hours refrigeration instead of overnight. This works well for me because sometimes we eat breakfast for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. It was easy to prepare and was a big hit at our holiday breakfast. I would try one change that I used in a similar recipe. I would not put cinnamon in the milk mixture. After I've poured the milk mixture, I would dot with 2 T. butter, then mix 3 T. of sugar and 2 t. of cinnamon and sprinkle on top. I think this will give it a little more flavor. Either way would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States