Holiday Morning French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
This is a delicious recipe and especially good for Christmas morning. The dish can be assembled the night before and baked while the family is busily opening their Christmas presents! I have passed this recipe on to several friends who now include it with their favorites, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
YUMMY! This is a fabulous recipe, that impressed even my "outstanding cook" best friend! Easy, delicious and great to make the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I loved it. I was looking for a vegetarian brunch recipe & this fit the bill. It was nice to make it the night before & just pop it in the oven before my guests arrived. I used a sugar free brown sugar substitute. As my husband thought it was a little too sweet, I might experiment & make it using 3/4 cup brown sugar next time. I used whole wheat bread to make it more nutritious & also cut the bread into about one inch cubes (keeping the crust on), instead of leaving the bread in slices. My other tip is to make sure you have enough of the egg mixture to moisten the bread. I thought it was too dry so I added more egg mixture. Depending on how many slices of bread you use, my guess would be to use about one egg for about one and a half pieces of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
There is an apple pancake that we order at a pancake house that is delicious but something you have to eat right away. This recipe tastes just like that apple pancake, and it is easier to make. I made it on Christmas eve and baked in on Christmas morning. Since there were only two of us we ate it for several days and it reheats beautifully. Next time I may cube the bread, there was plenty of the egg-milk mixture for it to absorb. It is not a hardship to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Outstanding recipe! Tried this recipe this weekend to test, in hopes that it would be our Christmas morning breakfast. Came out perfect the first time, following the recipe as written. I am definitely serving this - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2003
This recipe was wonderful. It was easy to prepare and was a big hit at our holiday breakfast. I would try one change that I used in a similar recipe. I would not put cinnamon in the milk mixture. After I've poured the milk mixture, I would dot with 2 T. butter, then mix 3 T. of sugar and 2 t. of cinnamon and sprinkle on top. I think this will give it a little more flavor. Either way would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This recipe was very good. It was best refrigerated overnight. The only thing that I recommend is that you use a smaller (not as wide) bread, like french, because it is much easier to serve individual portions. The inverted serving method was very pretty, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
I was not too crazy about this recipe. The bread was soggy and my husband and I did not like that part of it. The apples/raisins were great! Will probably not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Texas, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Christmas morning, Overall pretty good, only used 2 apples and that was plenty, also had to cook longer than the suggested time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Really, really good! My husband gives his approval!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States