Holiday Morning French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
We made this Christmas morning, and it was sooo good. I cubed the bread instead of slicing it, and next time I will toast the cubes before adding to the recipe (it was a bit too soft in the middle for me). Also, I used wheat Hawaiian rolls instead of french bread, and it was very good. Great recipe, and we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARSHYNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Line, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
In my book #2 it's called "Overnight Apple French Toast"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DLVMommy
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Everyone thought this was a great treat for a Sunday morning breakfast. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Highland, California, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This is makes a beautiful presentation for a holiday breakfast. It is rich and I wouldn't want as an "every day" French toast but to me and my family it is a perfect treat for special occasions. The cranberries are great with it. I didn't change anything with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This recipe has been a Christmas tradition in my household for years. I follow it as written, and it comes out perfect very time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiendishthingy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Very good. I made the recipe as stated except that I used enough thickly sliced french bread to cover the top. I would make this again & probably vary the fruit next time...strawberry sounds good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
Fantastic recipe! I made it for a crowd (200 people) with 2" Hotel Pans, and it was such a hit! I love how beautiful the presentation is when flipped over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
Imho, more a bread pudding than a French toast but a great brunch recipe anyway. We really enjoyed the warm mix of flavours! Make sure to bake covered (as suggested by the recipe), otherwise the bread will be too dry on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
SUPER!!! My family loves it and it is so easy to make! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Made this for Christmas morning and once since then with modifications that have turned out beautifully. Texas Toast works wonderfully for this recipe - 6 slices (which look pretty halved on the diagonal) fit perfectly into the 9x13 pan. I decreased the sugar to 1/2 cup and increased the cranberries to 3/4 cup. As recommended by another reviewers, I let the dish sit overnight with some soda cans on top to help the bread soak up the egg. I found that it helps to spray the aluminum foil cover with cooking spray before baking, else the bread puffs up and sticks to the foil. I also baked for much longer than called for -- 1 hour covered and ten minutes uncovered. We will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roscoe, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States