Holiday Leg of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
The combination of spices on this was just delicious. I will probably increase it the next time that I make it, because they gave it such a good flavor. I plan to use that blend for lamb chops as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Great combination for spice rub and the orange adds nice floral notes, but don't cook your roast to 175 degrees unless you want a dry, tough peice of meat, 130-140 on an instant read thermometer will give you a perfect medium rare as lamb should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdg78

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sun City West, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I used this recipe to cook my first lamb. There were no legs of lamb at the store, so I made do with a lamb shank. It couldn't be easier to make and the lamb was so tender and flavorful! The orange peel really added a nice, subtle extra flavor to the dish. I served it with mint sauce and it was a hit for Easter dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I can't believe it has taken me so long to rate this. It is an impressive recipe that always turns out perfect for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! I made this for Easter dinner and it was a huge hit. I added orange juice to the rub as another reviewer suggested and marinated it overnight. Also, 175 degrees is way overcooked for lamb. Take it out of the oven at around 140 because it will continue to cook after it is taken out. So pleasantly surprised with this recipe. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Very delicious lamb. My family especially enjoyed the citrus kick from the orange peel. I did find a slightly more desirable doneness to 140 degrees F for rare to medium-rare and it was done (from rub to table in less than two hours). Will definitely use this recipe again the next time I roast a lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
To the person who said the lamb was too strong for her family...when you buy it make sure it isn't mutton and not real lamb. The growth plates on the leg bones should not be calcified yet. Someone might have passed off mutton on you which is cheaper meat. Also you might try leg of young goat. It is milder than lamb even and that is what I used in this recipe. Only thing is that it doesn't have as much fat on outside so I added some olive oil to the rub and let it sit in fridge over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
very easy and tasty lamb to make! I didn't have seasoned salt but it still turned out to have a very flavorful taste. I added dried thyme to the spice rub on top and stuff the lamb with fresh thyme sprigs. I love cardamom and wished I had tasted that more so next time I make this I will take the advice of a fellow reviewer and stuff the slits with whole cardamom seed. I also didn't taste much of the orange flavor surprisingly unless I was biting into an actual orange peel so I will also top the lamb with some orange juice like the reviewer did. I also agree with another reviewer - it is definitely done at about 140 degrees. 175 would have been way too overcooked. Once the lamb is removed from the heat, keep in mind the temperature still rises a bit. To give it a little extra crispy crust (because I love crispy outside and tender inside), I broiled the lamb on high for no more than a minute. Hmmm! Perfect finish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wine'n'Dine Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made this, as is, for our New Years Party and everyone loved it!! A few of our guests even said they were worried because they've had bad lamb in the past, but went back for seconds; even the picky kids loved it!! I took my leg of lamb out when the meat thermometer read between 135-140 and it was medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was my first time ever making leg of lamb!! Great turn out, even my finiky eater liked it. I prepared it Sat and cooked it Sunday, my family loved it. Now they want it for Thanksgiving as well. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

Chef John’s Roasted Leg of Lamb

See how to make roasted leg of lamb with an herb, garlic, and pomegranate rub.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States