Holiday Left-Over Sweet Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Mouth watering. Super easy to make. Got rave reviews from family & fiends. People are starting to think I can cook. Taste great even without beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was great and easy to make. The house smelled incredible while it was baking. I followed the recipe but I did add a sprinkle of nutmeg. My daughter and husband would not eat a sweet potato if they were starving. So, I called it a cinnamon/spice cake and never told them what was in it. They raved about it and couldn't get enough. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
AMAZING and another 5 stars!! An extremely 'flexible' recipe as well - one person's review said they added some cooked carrots. I only had about 3/4 cup sweet potatoes left, but had alot of regular mashed potatoes so figured it was worth the try and substituted the remainder w/those and mixed in some molasses to sweeten them up. I also added a little ginger and nutmeg, just cuz I like those flavors. THANK YOU MLYIN for the DELICIOUS and CREATIVE way to use up leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I halved the recipe and made this with 3/4 cup mashed kabocha squash. I used 2 eggs, apple cider instead of beer, half whole wheat flour half all-purpose flour and half olive oil and half canola oil for the oil portion. I baked them in a mini muffin pan at 350 for 10 minutes. I came out with 48 total for just half the recipe! They came out great with soft fluffy centers and nice crispy tops. My boyfriend who hates squash even like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIESAYSHI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Do it with carrots! I had some leftover carrots that I needed to use up, and so I cooked and mashed them and used them in place of the sweet potatoes and it came out so delicious. My kids are already asking for another piece. I did made a few changes- I used only 1 cup white sugar and I had added a 1/2 cup brown sugar to the carrots which made the cake the perfect amount of sweet. I was out of eggs so I substituted mayo (which i have done several times with cakes and it works great) about 4TBSP, I just eyeball it. The beer is completely unnecessary so I omitted it and nothing tasted like it was missing. If your batter needs thinning, milk works great in place of the beer, but I only used a little- not a complete half cup. My carrots had extra moisture and my batter was perfect. No icing necessary, but u could use it if you wanted extra sweetness. A great versatile recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Oh WOW- this was incredibly good! I had extra sweet potatoes (about 2 1/2 cups total), so I just left out the beer, which worked out fine. Also, since my sweet potatoes were not pre-sweetened, I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. Everyone LOVED this- thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarcieA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Photo by claudiaM15
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Very good cake, I used 1 cup of Splenda and 2/3 cup sugar. I didn't have any beer so I substituted with 1/2 cup of chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudiaM15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
YUM! Made it with applesauce instead of oil, and like another reviewer, opted for an extra 1/2 cup of sweet potatoes in place of the beer. I did have to increase the baking time by a full ten minutes. I put a little extra vanilla and cinnamon and WOW, WOW, WOW, this was GREAT!!! I think next time I will try baking the same recipe in my largest casserole dish so it will be slightly thinner and then see how it does cutting it as bars instead of pieces of cake. Oh, I also added chopped pecans to mine. GREAT!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY @ A Better Way Farm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Waynesboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
OK, so I don't bake often but I always end up throwing away my sweet potato casserole leftovers (I always make too much). SO when I saw this recipe I was intrigued. OMG this is the best cake ever. AND for those of you who decide to omit the beer for something else - you are missing out on the rising effect of the CO2 with the baking powder and soda. This was the lightest, airiest, most moist cake EVER. Thank you for the recipe - this will be a day after thanksgiving tradition from now on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Totally Yummy! I used 1/2 a cup of applesauce instead of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States