Holiday Left-Over Sweet Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was skeptical when I saw the beer and all the Baking powder and soda, but it was delicious. It wasn't very sweet because my potatoes weren't; and since I had pecans in my potatoes, I added more to this recipe. I will add more spices next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Delicious! Very moist and not too sweet. Will definitely make it again and again. I made a few changes to make it healthier: I substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
FABULOUS! Moist and delicious! I upped the healthiness by using 25% bean flour (the rest I used 60% w/w), cutting the sugar in half and using unsweetened orange juice instead of beer.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This cake was so delicious that on Christmas, it was the first dessert devoured. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, will be used again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mikaela
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Mmmm these are delicious! I made a huge thing of sweet potato casserole the other day and it was way too much to eat so I made this recipe into tasty little cupcakes to share with my class tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This turned out great! I didn't have that many sweet potatoes left over, so I halved the recipe and made it into cupcakes - these only take about 16 minutes to bake, depending on how gooey your batter is. Also, I added a lot more cinnamon - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Terrific way to use up those sweet potatos after Thanksgiving. Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was a great recipe and just in time for the holiday leftovers. It also freezes well. A hit with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States