Holiday Left-Over Sweet Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
FABULOUS! Moist and delicious! I upped the healthiness by using 25% bean flour (the rest I used 60% w/w), cutting the sugar in half and using unsweetened orange juice instead of beer.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This turned out great! I didn't have that many sweet potatoes left over, so I halved the recipe and made it into cupcakes - these only take about 16 minutes to bake, depending on how gooey your batter is. Also, I added a lot more cinnamon - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was a great recipe and just in time for the holiday leftovers. It also freezes well. A hit with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Do it with carrots! I had some leftover carrots that I needed to use up, and so I cooked and mashed them and used them in place of the sweet potatoes and it came out so delicious. My kids are already asking for another piece. I did made a few changes- I used only 1 cup white sugar and I had added a 1/2 cup brown sugar to the carrots which made the cake the perfect amount of sweet. I was out of eggs so I substituted mayo (which i have done several times with cakes and it works great) about 4TBSP, I just eyeball it. The beer is completely unnecessary so I omitted it and nothing tasted like it was missing. If your batter needs thinning, milk works great in place of the beer, but I only used a little- not a complete half cup. My carrots had extra moisture and my batter was perfect. No icing necessary, but u could use it if you wanted extra sweetness. A great versatile recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Terrific way to use up those sweet potatos after Thanksgiving. Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Delicious! Very moist and not too sweet. Will definitely make it again and again. I made a few changes to make it healthier: I substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mikaela
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Mmmm these are delicious! I made a huge thing of sweet potato casserole the other day and it was way too much to eat so I made this recipe into tasty little cupcakes to share with my class tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Mouth watering. Super easy to make. Got rave reviews from family & fiends. People are starting to think I can cook. Taste great even without beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I halved the recipe and made this with 3/4 cup mashed kabocha squash. I used 2 eggs, apple cider instead of beer, half whole wheat flour half all-purpose flour and half olive oil and half canola oil for the oil portion. I baked them in a mini muffin pan at 350 for 10 minutes. I came out with 48 total for just half the recipe! They came out great with soft fluffy centers and nice crispy tops. My boyfriend who hates squash even like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELANIESAYSHI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This cake was so delicious that on Christmas, it was the first dessert devoured. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, will be used again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States