Holiday Left-Over Sweet Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This was a great recipe and just in time for the holiday leftovers. It also freezes well. A hit with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Terrific way to use up those sweet potatos after Thanksgiving. Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This turned out great! I didn't have that many sweet potatoes left over, so I halved the recipe and made it into cupcakes - these only take about 16 minutes to bake, depending on how gooey your batter is. Also, I added a lot more cinnamon - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mikaela
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Mmmm these are delicious! I made a huge thing of sweet potato casserole the other day and it was way too much to eat so I made this recipe into tasty little cupcakes to share with my class tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This cake was so delicious that on Christmas, it was the first dessert devoured. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, will be used again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
FABULOUS! Moist and delicious! I upped the healthiness by using 25% bean flour (the rest I used 60% w/w), cutting the sugar in half and using unsweetened orange juice instead of beer.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Delicious! Very moist and not too sweet. Will definitely make it again and again. I made a few changes to make it healthier: I substituted whole wheat flour for the all-purpose flour and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I was skeptical when I saw the beer and all the Baking powder and soda, but it was delicious. It wasn't very sweet because my potatoes weren't; and since I had pecans in my potatoes, I added more to this recipe. I will add more spices next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Turned out very nice and yummy! I certainly recommend this one! Will keep it in my recipe book :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was great and easy to make. The house smelled incredible while it was baking. I followed the recipe but I did add a sprinkle of nutmeg. My daughter and husband would not eat a sweet potato if they were starving. So, I called it a cinnamon/spice cake and never told them what was in it. They raved about it and couldn't get enough. Will definitely make this again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States