Holiday Left-Over Sweet Potato Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Was good but not very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
What a great recipe! Used up plain leftover sweet potatoes! It was soooo good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
this cake was very good and moist. the only things i changed were using 1c white sugar and 3/4c brown sugar, and used pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon. i used a chocolate stout beer, and the cake had a wonderful richness to it. i just used roasted sweet potato (no sugar or butter already added in) and the cake was plenty sweet enough. thanks so much for sharing this recipe, i will certainly use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
DELICIOUS! I made the following modifications: decreased the sugar to 1/2 + 1/8 cup due to the fact that my sweet potato casserole already had sugar in it and in the topping which consisted of pecans, brown sugar, butter and cornflakes. Then I used orange juice in place of the beer. When it was done baking (about 35 minutes), I made a glaze using milk and confectioner's (aka powdered) sugar and poured it on top - Oh my taste buds was it GOOD! My husband even ate it and he doesn't normally like anything with sweet potatoes in it! I will definitely be using this recipe year after year! Shared it on facebook too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My goodness these were perfect! I was skeptical about the beer that my husband happened to be drinking when I was making it, but oh my we're they delicoous! I'm sure any milk in place of beer would do just as well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbgardea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is DELICIOUS. I had an entire crock pot full of leftover sweet potato casserole after Thanksgiving and I used it all to make several loaves of this cake. The only change I made to the recipe was to cut the sugar by about 1/3 because there was already a lot of sugar in the leftover casserole I used. This recipe is fantastic and freezes beautifully. It gets devoured every time I take it to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megallyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
My brother asked me to make a Sweet Potato Cake he saw on a Paula something cook show, so after reading the recipe I knew I wasn't going to like it. So I made both, hers and this one. I followed this recipe almost to the T. The only thing I changed was that I used a can of sweet potatoes instead of cooking them myself. I took both cakes to the Thanksgiving dinner party and this one was a hit. It was gone before the other one was even 1/4 eaten. It is very moist and super delicious. Next time I will make it with Splenda as I am diabetic and shouldn't be eating this (but it is so good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Velazquez

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This was delicious! I had a lot of sweet potatoes on hand so was looking for a recipe to use them in. The only change I made in the recipe was to use about a 1/2 cup of brown sugar in addition to the white sugar and I used root beer instead of beer to get the wonderful foaming action in the batter. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
AWESOME cake. 'Nuff said. :-) Well, I guess I will share my modifications. I did not have plain sweet potatoes leftover. However, I did have some sweet potato casserole...2 cups to be exact. And mine wasn't the marshmallow-topped kind. It had a simple topping of butter, brown sugar, and sugar and cinnamon Ritz crackers. So this is what I used. I did not have beer on hand, so I used some coconut milk instead, which had been hanging around in my fridge for quite a while. And I actually took the salt level up to 3/4 tsp. I ALWAYS used this much salt, sometimes a full tsp., anytime there is cinnamon being used. It enhances the flavor so much, and it helps to cut through the sugar. Cinnamon will make sugary things taste sweeter and sometimes overbearing. I only used about 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. I don't even really think it was necessary, but then again my casserole had vanilla and cinnamon added to it in the beginning. I only used 1/2 C. of oil as well and subbed in 1/4 C. of applesauce, just because. And for the sugar, I used a full cup of white and the rest brown. The cake was so delightfully moist, and it does not need a frosting of any kind. I did put a cinnamon glaze over it just for added pizazz. I'm going to post this on my bundt cake blog. Thanks for sharing this fabulous idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Bakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Totally Yummy! I used 1/2 a cup of applesauce instead of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Cheesecake

This dessert tastes like a combination of cheesecake and sweet potato pie.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States