Holiday Green Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is reminiscent of holidays when I was a little girl. It is hard going trying to make jello salads over here in Scotland. You can't get powdered jello, and the cubes are just not the same. Still, this came out good, and our guests were intrigued by what it was, and really enjoyed eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My in-laws called it green marsian food. I leave out the mayo,milk,cottage cheese and use whip topping instead. I wait for jello to soft jell and mix in small container of whip topping blending enough to see tiny chunks of jello so that it looks a bit green and white, even sometimes leaving jello in bottom undisturbed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I have been craving this salad for a week!! I am so glad to have found it!! My mom used to make it a little different but the same nontheless!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Really good, surprisingly. Even my guests were very impressed and had two helpings! Was good for a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessa
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
oh... my.... god. i cant stop saying it. i made some of this tonight, was a little iffy about the mayo but i put it in anyways, was a little worried about how it would turn out because it smelled really mayonnaisey when i went to put it in the fridge and seemed a little greasy around the edge of the bowl when i went to wipe the edge for a picture. im saving it for dessert tomorrow but i wanted to taste a little bit to see how it turned out.. and HOLY . this stuff is absolutely to die for. that little bit is about to turn into the whole bowl full, but i need to be strong. i did everything exactly how the instructions said, except i dont like pecans so i substituted those for sliced almonds and i added shredded coconut. nothing too drastic that would change the flavor much from the original recipe. its not how i remember the green jello salad being made when i was little (i think it was just pineapple, grapes, coconut and pecans mixed in the lime jello) but its good... much MUCH better than how i had it when i was growing up. definitely keeping this one for years and years.. and im going to share it with anyone that will take it. do NOT let the mayonnaise in it stop you from making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This is very similar to one my Grandmother served at ALL holiday dinners. I've made it in the past, but without the milk, and it's always turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Delicous! I was a little nervous at first when i read about the mayo since i'm not big on mayo, but it tasted wonderful!! I didn't add the pecans since i don't like nuts and it was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I had no idea I would find this recipe here, and it is a little different from the one we make. In my family, it is always a tradition on Thanksgiving or Christmas. We make it with creamed cheese instead of mayo, milk, and cottage cheese. I never get tired of it, but it's a good thing we only have it once or twice a year!!! Any way you make it, it's GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Love this recipe! My mother-in-law first introduced this to me(she added a small grated apple) and I didn't care for it at first but it has grown to be a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I was very excited to see this recipe. My mom & grandma have made this for years, our family loves it! My recipe was very vague so it is nice to have a more detailed description. To cut calories and sugar I have made this with sugar-free jello, low-cal mayo, & fat-free evaporated milk & it it still tastes great! Sometimes, walnuts & marachino cherries are added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOTMAMMACOOKIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumner, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Grape Salad

This dessert salad is creamy with bursts of grape flavor.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Holiday Chicken Salad

The cranberries provide the seasonal punch to this tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States